Bruins Tied for Second after Round One in North Carolina

Oct. 23, 2009

The No.1 ranked UCLA women's golf team was tied for second place after the opening round of the NCAA Fall Preview in North Carolina on Friday.

The Bruins posted a team score of 293 (+5) and trailed first-place USC by five shots. The Trojans were at even par 288. Tied with the Bruins was ASU, followed by fourth-place Duke at 296 (+8) and fifth-place Alabama at 298 (+10).

Three UCLA individuals were tied for 15th place at one-over par 73. Freshman Tiffany Lua and sophomores Brianna Do and Stephanie Kono were each trailing the leaders by five shots. Tied for 25th place were junior Glory Yang and senior Sydnee Michaels who each posted scores of 74 (+2).

Arizona State's Carlotta Ciganda and Alabama's Camilla Lenworth were tied for first at four-under par 68.

Second-round action in the 54-hole, 18-team event continues Saturday.

For more information, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS