Beijing Blogs - Jillian Ellis - Aug. 13, 2008

Aug. 13, 2008

Off to Shanghai!

Last night was a great emotional boost! We beat New Zealand, 4-0, and with Japan crushing Norway, 5-1, we advanced in first place from our group.

The game started in dramatic style as Heather O'Reilly scored with a 30-yard blast in the first minute of the game. The early goal definitely relaxed us, and we put together our best game thus far. After finding out the Norway-Japan score, we were pretty excited to be heading to Shanghai for the quarterfinals.

This morning we boarded a small plane for a two-hour flight. We travel with 60 pieces of team gear, so most of our luggage gets shipped the night before. Our police escort and support personnel make getting around super efficient; they literally shut down the airport and freeways when we travel!

Our next opponent will be Canada. UCLA's Kara Lang is a striker for the Canucks and has had a big role in helping her team advance. Although losing to Sweden yesterday, Canada's earlier results against Argentina and China have helped them move on to the quarters. It will be great to see Kara, and I am sure amid all the preparation Lauren, Kara, and I will find some Bruin time!

- Jillian Ellis


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS