Eighth-Ranked Bruins Improve to 7-0 With Win Over Boise State

Feb. 17, 2012

Box Score | UCLA Softball on Twitter

SAN DIEGO - Senior Marti Reed and junior B.B. Bates each had a pair of hits, while freshman Ally Carda struck out a career-high 10 in a complete-game effort, as the eighth-ranked Bruins defeated Boise State 4-1 on Friday at the USD Softball Complex.

The Bruins improve to 7-0 on the season, while the Broncos fall to 5-2.

Carda earned her fourth win of the year, allowing a run, seven hits and two walks. She retired eight in a row at one point between the third and fifth innings. Carda fanned a pair in the first, third and sixth frames. Seven of the nine Bruin starters had at least one hit.

Carda worked out of a first-inning jam, as the Broncos had the bases loaded with one out following an error, an infield single and a walk. But the Bruin freshman fanned Devon Bridges and Kelly Sweeney looking to end the threat.

After failing to score in the first inning for the first time this season earlier in the day against UC Davis, the Bruins scored twice in the bottom of the first versus Boise State. Senior Katie Schroeder blooped a single to center, stole second and moved to third when sophomore Kellie Fox reached on a fielding error by Kellie Caplan at second. After Fox stole second base, senior Andrea Harrison tapped a grounder to second, as Schroeder came home to score and Fox moved to third. One out later, Bates singled up the middle to bring home the Bruins' second run.

The Bruins extended their lead in the bottom of the fourth. Bates led off with a double to center and scored on a single to right by senior Samantha Camuso to make it 3-0.

In the sixth, the Broncos sent the tying run up to the plate with two outs with runners at second and first, but Carda struck out Tazz Weatherly looking to end the inning.

The Bruins added another run in the bottom of the sixth. With one out, Carda singled up the middle and was pinch-run for by freshman Sam Duran, who was forced at second on a fielder's choice grounder off the bat of sophomore Talee Snow. Reed then singled to left-center, and when the ball got underneath the glove of left fielder Holly Bourke, Snow came all the way around to score UCLA's fourth run.

Boise State broke the shutout with two outs in the top of the seventh when Christina Capobianco doubled to center to plate Tara Glover to make it 4-1. But Carda fanned Allie Crump for her 10th strikeout of the contest to finish off the win.

The Bruins are back in action on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. against UCF at the SDSU Softball Stadium. Gametracker will be available at UCLABruins.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Feb 12
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
L, 1 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
W, 7 - 3
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 8 - 3
Friday, Feb 19
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
W, 2 - 0
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
L, 6 - 8
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
L, 5 - 10
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Feb 26
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
W, 14 - 6 (5)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 4
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
L, 7 - 11
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, May 07 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS