Uribe Remains in Contention; Joh Drops Back at WWATC

Oct. 9, 2008

UCLA golfers Maria Jose Uribe and Tiffany Joh posted opposite scores, and their teams moved in different directions during the second round of the 23rd Women's World Amateur Championship at the Grange Golf Club in Adelaide, Australia.

Uribe carded an even par 73 on the East Course and was tied for 11th place at 146 (+1), nine strokes off the lead. In the second round, she battled back from two-over par to one-under on the outward nine with birdies at the sixth, seventh and ninth holes. On the inward nine, she made three bogeys and two birdies to finish at one-over par.

Uribe's team, Colombia, dropped into a tie for 14th place at 10-over par.

Joh experienced a tougher day on the West Course, posting a score of 78 (+6) and was at 153 (+7) tied for 38th, a drop of 28 spots from the first round. She was three-over par through 15 holes when a triple bogey 7 at the 16th derailed her round.

However, the United States improved its position with the help of teammates Amanda Blumenherst, who posted a 71 (-1) and Alison Walshe, who carded a 73 (+1). The Stars and Stripes were tied for eighth at eight-over par, 23 shots behind first place Sweden (-15). Spain moved into second place at seven-under par.

The World Amateur Team Championship consists of two or three player teams competing for 48 countries over 72 holes. The two best individual scores per country are counted each day to make up the team score.

For more information, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 09
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
T-5th (+26, 878)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Monday, Feb 22
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
T-6th (+17, 881)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 06 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 20 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 21 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 22 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 23 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, May 25 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS