Karch Kiraly to be Inducted into U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame

April 16, 2008

CHICAGO, IL - Karch Kiraly, the only volleyball player to win three Olympic gold medals, is one of nine Olympians who will be inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Presented by Allstate, the USOC announced this week.

Kiraly (UCLA `83), who retired from beach volleyball in 2007, won gold medals with the U.S. Men's indoor team in 1984 and '88, then returned and won a gold medal on the beach with partner Kent Steffes in 1996.

"It's a great honor and privilege to be inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame as a member of the 2008 Class," Kiraly said. "The Hall already contains so many legends and this year's class features many of my peers whom I have admired and respected tremendously throughout the years.

Last season, Kiraly left the beach circuit as the Tour's all-time leader in Open victories with 148. He is a four-time King of the Beach winner and a seven-time recipient of the Tour's MVP award.

At UCLA, Kiraly played on three NCAA championship teams, twice earning Most Outstanding Player honors (1981 and '82). In 1979 and '82, the Bruins were undefeated with him in the starting lineup. In 1993, he was inducted into the UCLA Athletics Hall of Fame.

Kiraly joins wrestler Bruce Baumgartner, distance runner Joan Benoit, figure skater Brian Boitano, boxer Oscar de La Hoya, equestrian J. Michael Plumb, basketball player David Robinson, swimmer Amy Van Dyken, shooter Lones W. Wigger, Jr. and Paralympic swimmer John Morgan in the class of 2008. Figure skating coach Carlo Fassi will be inducted in the Coach category along with Olympic figure skating gold medalist Carol Heiss Jenkins in the Veteran category. The members of the 1996 Women's Gymnastics Team - Amanda Borden, Amy Chow, Dominique Dawes, Shannon Miller, Dominique Moceanu, Jaycie Phelps and Kerri Strug - will also be honored in the Team category, as will legendary Hollywood producer Frank Marshall (UCLA '68) as the Special Contributor. Marshall is a former UCLA soccer player.

The induction ceremony will take place June 19 in Chicago.

To read the complete release, click here.

Friday, Apr 01
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-19, 25-27, 13-25)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 20-25, 18-25, 23-25)
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 25-18, 25-22)
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 21-25, 25-16, 25-23)
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Hawai'i
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-16, 22-25, 25-21)
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Long Beach State
Provo, UT
(26-24, 28-26, 25-19)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT
(20-25, 19-25, 25-18, 15-25)
Thursday, May 05
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(25-22, 22-25, 21-25, 25-20, 16-18)