25th-Ranked Bruins Drop 63-54 Decision to West Virginia

Nov. 25, 2011

Box Score

NORTHRIDGE, Calif. - Senior Rebekah Gardner led the Bruins in scoring for the third straight game with 19, while junior Atonye Nyingifa added 10, but the 25th-ranked Bruins fell to West Virginia 63-54 on Friday night at the Holiday Inn Thanksgiving Basketball Classic.

The Bruins (2-2) will face Colgate in the tournament consolation game at 5 p.m. on Saturday at The Matadome. Dave Marcus and Tracy Murray will have the broadcast call at UCLABruins.com.

Sophomore Thea Lemberger added eight points, five rebounds and three steals, while freshman Moriah Faulk posted six points and a pair of three-pointers.

The Mountaineers (3-1) had a few chances to pull away from the Bruins, but their shooting percentage (40.4%) and turnovers (22) prevented them from doing it. A scoring drought that lasted 5:38 helped UCLA whittle a 10-point first-half deficit to four points.

UCLA was hampered in the first half by poor shooting as well. The Bruins shot just 29 percent from the floor in the opening frame, their worst half of the season. They increased that to 43 percent in the second half but it didn't make much of a difference. West Virginia dominated the boards, outrebounding UCLA by a 47-26 margin.

Natalie Burton's put-back of Christal Caldwell miss with 8:50 left in the game gave the Mountaineers their biggest lead (43-30) but it didn't last. The Bruins charged back, using a 16-5 run, to cut their deficit to two points. Gardner and Faulk each had six points during the run.

West Virginia answered with consecutive baskets to push the lead back to 53-46. A desperation 3-pointer by Taylor Palmer, with the shot clock expiring, gave the Mountaineers a 56-46 lead with 2:04 remaining.

The Bruins were hoping to use Friday's game to erase the memories of last week's 33-point loss to Baylor. Instead it left UCLA coach Cori Close questioning her team's toughness.

The Bruins are saddled with several injuries, and added another when freshman Kacy Swain bumped her head on the floor in the first half. Swain left the game and will not play in Saturday's consolation game.

Close refuses to use the injuries as an excuse.

"(Friday) was all about toughness and being mentally focused," she said. "We have plenty of talent if they do the things together. West Virginia was the aggressor. They had more focus down the stretch and we paid the price."

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 01
vs. Vanguard
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13
vs. St. John's
Los Angeles, CA
W, 73 - 58
Friday, Nov 20
vs. James Madison
Los Angeles, CA
W, 90 - 61
Sunday, Nov 22
vs. South Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 65 - 68
Friday, Nov 27
vs. Louisiana Tech
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
W, 68 - 57
Saturday, Nov 28
vs. Notre Dame
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
L, 84 - 92 (OT)
Saturday, Dec 05 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 13 - 11:00 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Wednesday, Dec 16 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 18 - 7:05 PM PST
at Sacramento State
Sacramento, CA
Monday, Dec 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Dec 28 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Riverside
Riverside, CA
Wednesday, Dec 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 02 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 10 - 6:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 15 - 6:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 17 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Jan 22 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 24 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Jan 31 - 1:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Feb 05 - 5:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Feb 07 - 12:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Feb 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Feb 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Feb 26 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA