Matthew Slater Named U.S. Bank Pac-10 Special Teams Player of the Week

Sept. 24, 2007

Complete Pac-10 Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Senior Matthew Slater was named the U.S. Bank Pac-10 Special Teams Player of the Week on Monday by the conference office after an impressive showing on Saturday versus Washington. Oregon's Dennis Dixon (offensive) and Cal's Thomas DeCoud (defensive) joined Slater as this week's honorees.

It was the third time in four weeks that a Bruin player has earned a Pac-10 weekly honor as quarterback Ben Olson opened up the season with the offensive honor for the Stanford game and Aaron Perez earned special team accolades after the BYU game.

Slater came up with a big play in UCLA's 44-31 win against Washington as he returned three kickoffs for 127 yards (42.3-yard average), including an 85-yard return for a touchdown that proved to be the winning score for the Bruins. He was also the leading tackler on special teams for UCLA.

Slater and the Bruins return to action on Saturday as they travel to Oregon State for the first time since 2002.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Virginia
Pasadena, CA
W, 34 - 16
Saturday, Sep 12
Las Vegas, NV
W, 37 - 3
Saturday, Sep 19
vs. Brigham Young
Pasadena, CA
W, 24 - 23
Saturday, Sep 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 56 - 30
Saturday, Oct 03
vs. Arizona State
Pasadena, CA
L, 23 - 38
Thursday, Oct 15
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 35 - 56
Thursday, Oct 22
vs. California
Pasadena, CA
W, 40 - 24
Saturday, Oct 31
vs. Colorado
Pasadena, CA
W, 35 - 31
Saturday, Nov 07
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 41 - 0
Saturday, Nov 14
vs. Washington State
Pasadena, CA
L, 27 - 31
Saturday, Nov 21
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 17 - 9
Saturday, Nov 28
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 21 - 40