UCLA's Courtney Mathewson Named MPSF Co-Player of the Week

March 18, 2008

WOODLAND, Calif. - Senior Courtney Mathewson of the top-ranked UCLA women's water polo team earned MPSF Mikasa Co-Player of the Week honors after having scored a season-best four goals in the Bruins' 8-7 win over No. 3 USC on Friday, March 14.

Mathewson's four-goal performance helped UCLA snap the Trojans' 42-game home win streak, dating back to 2002. In the victory, USC scored three straight goals late in the game before Mathewson's game-winner at the 2:31 mark in the fourth quarter.

Mathewson, who hails from Anaheim Hills, Calif., has scored in each of the Bruins' last 11 games, totaling 19 goals in that span. Mathewson becomes the fifth Bruin to earn the weekly honor this season.

The top-ranked UCLA women's water polo team is idle until Wednesday, March 26, when the Bruins play an exhibition game against the Canadian National Team in Honolulu, Hawaii (5 p.m. PT). Two days later, the Bruins play an MPSF contest at Hawai'i (4 p.m. PT).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
W, 23 - 2
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
W, 25 - 3
Saturday, Apr 09
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 8
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 16 - 6
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 8 (3OT)
Friday, Apr 29
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 10 - 3
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Stanford
Bakersfield, CA
L, 3 - 6
Sunday, May 01
vs. California
Bakersfield, CA
W, 7 - 5
Friday, May 13
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 17 - 4
Saturday, May 14
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 7
Sunday, May 15
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS