MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here

No. 16 UCLA Baseball Blanks UC Riverside, 4-0
Courtesy: UCLA Athletics  
Release:  03/06/2012

March 6, 2012

Box Score | Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader | 2012 UCLA Media Guide

LOS ANGELES - Grant Watson scattered two hits through 5.1 scoreless innings to lead the No. 16 UCLA baseball team past UC Riverside, 4-0, and extend the team's win streak to seven games Tuesday night at Steele Field at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

Watson (3-0) earned his team-leading third victory, allowing three baserunners in his third start. Watson and four UCLA relief pitchers limited UC Riverside to four hits.

Beau Amaral paced the Bruins' offense with a 3-for-5 effort, as UCLA (9-3) pounded out 10 hits in its first shutout of the season. Cody Regis was the other UCLA batter to record multiple hits, going 2-for-4 with two runs.

Tyler Heineman extended his hitting streak to 12 games, going 1-for-3 with one run and one walk.

Mitch Patito (1-1) absorbed the loss for UC Riverside (4-8), allowing three runs and six hits through four innings.

UCLA scored one run in the second inning before adding two in the fifth and one in the sixth. The Bruins loaded the bases in the first inning, as Patito threw 38 pitches in the frame, but were unable to score any runs.

A one-out single to right field by Amaral in the bottom of the second scored Regis from second base, handing UCLA a 1-0 cushion. The Bruins added a pair of runs in the fifth inning on a sacrifice fly by Trevor Brown and a two-out, run-scoring infield single by pinch-hitter Brian Carroll.

UCLA pushed its margin to 4-0 on Cody Keefer's two-out bunt single in the bottom of the sixth, allowing Cody Regis to score the fourth run of the game.

The Bruins return to action Friday evening, when they open a three-game series at No. 9 Georgia (11-2) at the Bulldogs' Foley Field. Game time of the series opener is 3 p.m. (PT)/6 p.m. (ET). The series continues on Saturday at 11 a.m. (PT)/2 p.m. (ET) and Sunday at 10 a.m. (PT)/1 p.m. (ET).

Game Notes: Tuesday's win marked UCLA's first shutout since May 28, 2011, when the Bruins won 7-0 at Arizona State ... through his last four appearances (two starts), Grant Watson has allowed one run and three hits in 10.1 innings ... UCLA's pitching staff lowered its earned-run average to a 3.36 mark on Tuesday ... Jeff Gelalich, Tyler Heineman and Cody Keefer have reached base safely (via hit, walk or hit-by-pitch) in all 12 games this season ... Chase Brewer threw 1.2 scoreless innings, inducing an inning-ending double play with the bases loaded in the sixth inning.


‹ UCLA Baseball



advertisement
*UCLA 2014 Women's Tennis NCAA National Champions T-Shirt... 
Price: $22.00