Langenfeld Named Tournament's Best Hitter as Team USA Wins Gold at Pan Am Qualifier

Aug. 10, 2009

USA Softball

MARACAY, Venezuela - Megan Langenfeld earned Best Hitter honors, and along with former Bruin Andrea Duran, helped the United States win gold at the 2009 Pan American Games Qualifier (July 31-Aug. 9).

Langenfeld hit a robust .658 with 25 hits in 38 at-bats. Nearly half (12) of her 25 hits went for extra bases, which led the team. The UCLA senior-to-be was also first on the team with 24 runs batted in, 49 total bases, four triples and a 1.289 slugging percentage. She added four home runs, which was second on the team, and 17 runs scored, which tied for second. Langenfeld did not strike out in 41 plate appearances.

Duran led Team USA with five home runs and nine walks, adding a pair of doubles and a 1.067 slugging percentage, which was second on the club. She hit .433, tying for second on the team with 17 runs scored and 15 runs batted in. Katie Schroeder, who will be a junior on the 2010 UCLA softball team, made the team but was unable to play due to an injured leg.

It didn't take long for Langenfeld to get her bat going, notching a 3-for-3 effort with a three-run homer in the opener against Columbia (July 31). Three days later against Panama on Aug. 3, Langenfeld went 3-for-3 again and fell a double short of the cycle, posting a solo homer in the first, an RBI triple in the second and a run-scoring single in the third. Later that day against Antilles, the 2009 All-American went 2-for-2 with a pair of homers and five RBI, crushing a three-run bomb in the first and a two-run jack in the second. She finished the afternoon 5-for-5 with eight RBI and a trio of long balls.

On Aug. 4, Langenfeld had another five-RBI performance against El Salvador, recording three hits on a single, a three-run triple and a two-RBI triple. She added three-hit games against Belize on Aug. 5 and Argentina on Aug. 8, driving in three in the latter contest. On Aug. 9, Langenfeld drove in what proved to be the game-winning run against Venezuela in the first inning on a double, as Team USA advanced to the Gold Medal Game against Canada, which had upset the U.S. just two days earlier. In the title contest, Langenfeld went 2-for-2, scoring Team USA's first run in the second inning and knocking home the go-ahead score in the third on a double.

Duran was consistent from the very start of the tournament, posting at least one hit in nine of the first 11 games. She drove in a pair against Brazil on Aug. 1 and had a three-run homer the next day against Ecuador. After homering again versus Antilles on Aug. 3, Duran went 3-for-5 in a doubleheader against El Salvador and the Dominican Republic on Aug. 4. Her hot hitting continued on Aug. 5 against Belize, as she went 2-for-3 with two RBI.

Following a loss to Canada on Aug. 7, Team USA was sent to the loser's bracket and had to win four times over the next two days to win the gold. Duran was a major part of the United States' comeback, having a huge day on Aug. 8. Against Argentina, she went 2-for-4 with three runs batted in and two home runs on a solo shot in the third inning and a two-run long ball in the fourth. Later that afternoon against Cuba, Duran went 2-for-2 with another homer, adding an RBI single.

For Duran, it was her third Gold Medal of the summer with Team USA, also finishing first at the Canada Cup and KFC World Cup of Softball. It was the second Gold Medal for Langenfeld and Schroeder as members of Team USA. The duo were on the 2007 Junior National Team that claimed first place at the ISF Junior Women's World Championships.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 15 - 7 (5)
Saturday, May 07
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Sunday, May 08
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Rained Out
Friday, May 20
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, May 21
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 1 - 8
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 2 - 1 (9)
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 2 - 1
Thursday, Jun 02 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Auburn
Oklahoma City, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS