No. 1 UCLA Women's Water Polo Cruises Past No. 6 California, 10-4

April 5, 2008

LOS ANGELES - The No. 1 UCLA women's water polo team took advantage of five first-quarter goals to defeat No. 6 California, 10-4, Saturday afternoon at Sunset Canyon Recreation Center. Junior Katie Rulon led the Bruins' offensive attack, registering a game-high three goals.

Senior Courtney Mathewson and junior Tanya Gandy each posted two-goal efforts for the host Bruins (23-0, 9-0 MPSF). Seniors Brittany Rowe and Jillian Kraus and junior Anne Belden each added one goal against California (14-8, 5-5 MPSF).

California's Meghan Corso led the Golden Bears with two goals. Molly Hayes and Grace Reynolds each added goals for California.

UCLA raced to a 3-0 lead in the first quarter on goals from Rulon (6:08, 4:01) and Gandy (4:39). Corso cut the Bruins' advantage to 3-1 with her first goal of the afternoon at 2:40 on a five-meter penalty shot. The Bruins led by a 5-2 margin at the conclusion of the first quarter.

Cal shaved UCLA's advantage to 5-3 with a 6-on-5 goal by Corso with 4:26 to play before halftime. The Bruins added three consecutive goals, claiming an 8-3 lead within the next 90 seconds. UCLA led, 8-4, at halftime. The Bruins scored twice more in the third quarter, and both teams were held scoreless in the final period.

Bruin junior goalkeeper Brittany Fullen logged two saves. California's Heather Stuart tallied 10 saves.

UCLA returns to action against Pacific on Sunday, April 6, in an MPSF match at Sunset Canyon Recreation Center. Game time is slated for 1 p.m.

No. 6 California at No. 1 UCLA

1 2 3 4 F
California 2 2 0 0 4
UCLA 5 3 2 0 10

California Goals: Meghan Corso 2, Molly Hayes, Grace Reynolds
California Saves: Heather Stuart 10

UCLA Goals: Katie Rulon 3, Tanya Gandy 2, Courtney Mathewson 2, Anne Belden, Jillian Kraus, Brittany Rowe
UCLA Saves: Brittany Fullen 2


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Hawai'i
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 13 - 8
Saturday, Jan 23
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 8 - 5
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Long Beach State
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 4
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Michigan
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 7
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. USA Scrimmage
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 13
Saturday, Feb 13 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - TBA PST
vs. Loyola Marymount or ...
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 10:50 AM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
Saturday, Mar 05 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 7:40 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:40 PM PST
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 20 - 1:00 PM PST
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 12:15 PM PST
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 1:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Bakersfield, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS