TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Defeats TCU, 4-1, to Advance to College World Series
By: UCLA Athletics

June 9, 2012

4
UCLA
(47-14)
  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 R H E
UCLA 0 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 0 4 8 0
TCU 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 7 2

Box Score: HTML / PDF Get Acrobat Reader
Video: Postgame Reaction / Press Conference / NCAA Highlights | Tourney Central
Extras: UCLA's Stats Get Acrobat Reader | Quotes

Los Angeles, Calif. • Attendance: 2,135

1
TCU
(40-22)


Winning pitcher Nick Vander Tuig.
 Pitching IP H R ER BB SO
 W - Vander Tuig (10-3) 6.0 5 1 1 1 5
 L - Morrison (9-2) 3.1 4 2 2 1 1
 S - Berg (1) 3.0 2 0 0 0 3
 Batting Leaders AB R H RBI BB HR
 UCLA - Brown 4 1 2 0 0 0
 UCLA - Keefer 3 0 1 1 1 0
 TCU - Rivera 3 1 1 1 0 0

LOS ANGELES - Nick Vander Tuig pitched six solid innings as the UCLA baseball team defeated TCU, 4-1, before 2,135 at Jackie Robinson Stadium on Saturday night to advance to the College World Series for the second time in three years.

Vander Tuig (10-3) secured his sixth victory in seven starts, as UCLA (47-14) extended its winning streak to nine games and won the NCAA Los Angeles Super Regional. The sophomore right-hander limited the Horned Frogs (40-22) to one run and five hits, recording five strikeouts and one walk.

The Bruins earned their fourth trip to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb., after David Berg pitched three scoreless innings in relief to secure his first career save.

"I'm so proud of our program," UCLA head coach John Savage said. "I'm proud of our players, their accomplishments, their hard work, dedication and resiliency. That junior class is special. They will go down as one of the best classes in the history of the school."

UCLA never trailed in its victory on Saturday evening, scoring one run in the top of the second and third innings to lead, 2-0, before TCU's Brance Rivera belted a solo home run to left field in the bottom of the third.

The Bruins scored their first two runs on a sacrifice fly to right field by Pat Valaika in the second inning and a squeeze bunt executed by Tyler Heineman in the third inning.

Vander Tuig allowed two hits through the fourth, fifth and sixth innings and exited the game in the bottom of the seventh after walking the leadoff hitter on five pitches.

Berg needed 32 pitches through the final three innings. The freshman right-hander induced a game-ending groundout up the middle, before a wild celebration ensued on the infield as UCLA's players dogpiled on the mound.

"It feels really similar [to 2010]," said junior Trevor Brown, who went 2-for-4 with one run. "We had really good chemistry my freshman year, and good leadership, and this team is similar to that. We all get along great. I feel really blessed that this team has the opportunity to go to Omaha."

TCU's Kyle Von Tungeln was the only Horned Frog player to record at least two hits, going 2-for-4.

Starting pitcher Preston Morrison (9-2) absorbed the loss, surrendering two runs and four hits in 3.1 innings. Andrew Mitchell allowed two runs (both unearned) and three hits in 3.2 innings of relief.

"We chipped away," Savage said. "It's a difficult game for us. We don't blow anybody out, we just hang around. We had eight hits, four runs, and we made everything count."

UCLA will return to action at the College World Series against Stony Brook on Friday, June 15 or Saturday, June 16 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb. The complete College World Series bracket will be finalized, along with game times, no later than 8 p.m. (PT) on Monday, June 11.

Game Notes: David Berg pitched in his nation-leading 47th game, a total that is tied for second place among the NCAA's all-time single-season appearances list (Division I level) ... Berg has pitched in 21 of the Bruins' last 22 games ... UCLA's 47 wins this season rank second in school history to the Bruins' 51 wins from 2010 ... UCLA has outscored its opposition, 33-9, in five NCAA postseason games this month ... the Bruins have won 16 of their last 17 ballgames ... UCLA improved its record to 4-1 in the all-time series against TCU - all five games have been played in the postseason within the last three seasons.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS