No. 7 Men's Track & Field Heading South To UCSD Triton Invitational

April 23, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The seventh-ranked UCLA men's track and field team will head south to La Jolla this weekend for the UC San Diego Triton Invitational in what will be the final tune-up before the big dual meet with crosstown rival USC.

Athletes will represent all event groups with the premier event being the discus. The UC San Diego discus area is known for very favorable throwing winds and Greg Garza, John Caulfield and Bo Taylor will look to take full advantage on Saturday. The wind is also beneficial for the pole vaulters who will also be in action. Also competing at the invite are jumpers, distance runners, hurdlers and sprinters.

Also of note this weekend is senior All-American Austin Ramos, who will be competing in his first outdoor race of the season. Ramos has been out since the NCAA Indoor Championships rehabbing an injury.

With just two meets left in the season, the men's team has tallied 26 West Region qualifying marks with several athletes ranking in the top-15 in the country. Those with top national marks include Henry Hagenbuch in the steeple (9th, 8:52.14), Kevin Craddock in the 110m hurdles (12th, 13.73), Taylor Hobson (11thT, 6-10.75) and Daniel Kirkpatrick (11thT, 6-10.75) in the high jump, Dustin DeLeo (5thT, 17-3), Johnny Quinn (8thT, 17-00.75), Chris Bencomo (8thT, 17-00.75), Bobby Talley (10thT, 16-6.75) and Greg Woepse (10thT, 16-6.75) in the pole vault, John Caulfield in the shot put (7th, 62-7.25) and discus (7th, 197-10), Greg Garza in the discus (3rd, 201-10), and Boldizsar Kocsor in the hammer (6th, 222-6).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 16
vs. Lumberjack Team ...
Flagstaff, AZ
Recap
Friday, Jan 22
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 13 - All Day PST
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Friday, Feb 26 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. Ben Brown ...
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Saturday, Mar 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 14 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Sunday, May 08 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS