Bruins Host Aztecs This Thursday

Feb. 8, 2012

Men's Tennis Twitter | 2012 Media Guide

LOS ANGELES - The No. 8 UCLA men's tennis team has just one match this week, as local rival San Diego State visits the Los Angeles Tennis Center on Thursday at 2:00 p.m. The Bruins and Aztecs last met in 2010, with UCLA taking a 5-2 victory at the LATC. UCLA leads the all-time series between the two schools 34-0. Live stats for the match can be found here: Live Scoreboard.

UCLA (6-0) is coming off a very successful weekend in Northern California, posting a pair of non-conference wins over No. 13 Cal and No. 6 Stanford. After dropping both contests to Cal last season, the Bruins got revenge on Friday with a 4-3 win at the Hellman Tennis Complex in Berkeley. With the dual match tied at 3-3, redshirt senior Nick Meister got the clinching win for the Bruins when he downed Nick Andrews, 6-3, 6-7(5), 6-1 at the No. 1 position. The Bruins had a little bit easier time with Stanford on Saturday, winning 6-1. After dropping the doubles point, UCLA stormed back to take all six singles matches. Meister picked up his second big win of the weekend against the Cardinal, upsetting 37th-ranked Ryan Thacher, 7-6(6), 1-6, 7-5. Stanford has been playing without its No. 1 player, Bradley Klahn, due to injury.

Following its two victories up north, UCLA moved up a spot from No. 9 to No. 8 in this week's ITA Rankings. New rankings will be released next week, as will singles and doubles rankings for the first time since Jan. 3. Currently the Bruins have three players ranked in singles led by No. 72 Clay Thompson. He is followed by No. 86 Marcos Giron and No. 94 Adrien Puget. UCLA does not have any doubles teams in the rankings. Complete rankings can be found here: ITA Rankings Page.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 3:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS