UCLA Visits USC for MPSF Showdown

March 30, 2007

The UCLA men's volleyball team, ranked fourth nationally, travels to USC Sat., Mar. 31 for a key MPSF match at the Galen Center. First serve is set for 8 p.m.

The match will be televised on a delayed broadcast by FoxSports beginning at 9 p.m. that evening. Bill Macdonald will call the play-by-play and Karch Kiraly and Steve Obradovich will provide commentary.

Darren Preston will provide the live play-by-play radio highlights on uclabruins.com.

Both teams suffered MPSF losses on Thursday and saw their winning streaks snapped. The Bruins (14-10, 9-9) lost in four games at top-ranked Pepperdine, and the 12th-ranked Trojans (10-12, 7-10) lost in three at home against No. 2 UC Irvine.

Despite the setbacks both teams remained in contention for playoff spots in the MPSF Tournament.

On Jan. 27, USC handed UCLA a 3-0 defeat at Pauley Pavilion. The loss was just the Bruins' second in their previous 29 matches against the Trojans. UCLA leads the overall series with USC, 84-31, including 12-2 in the Lexus Gauntlet series. This season, UCLA leads the cross-town rivalry series 47.5-22.5.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
25-19, 25-15, 25-14
Tuesday, Jan 05
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
25-23, 25-12, 25-20
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(24-26, 25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Jan 08
at Penn State
University Park, PA
(25-23, 22-25, 25-18, 21-25, 15-8)
Friday, Jan 15
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-19, 24-26, 25-23, 25-23)
Saturday, Jan 16
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
(25-18, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
(27-25, 25-21, 25-12)
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 23-25, 25-21, 25-19)
Monday, Jan 25
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-23, 25-16)
Wednesday, Jan 27
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
(23-25, 22-25, 25-19, 25-22, 15-13)
Friday, Jan 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
(20-25, 25-23, 27-25, 25-19)
Friday, Feb 05
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-18, 20-25, 23-25, 18-25)
Saturday, Feb 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(22-25, 25-22, 19-25, 25-18, 15-9)
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Monday, Mar 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 7:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 7:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
TBA
Thursday, Apr 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
TBA
Saturday, Apr 23 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championship
TBA
Thursday, May 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Championships
University Park, PA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS