Bruins Bust Streak and Lewis, 3-1

March 4, 2008

Box Score

Tenth-ranked UCLA stopped its four-match skid and senior All-American Tony Ker broke the school's career digs record Tuesday night in a four-game victory over visiting Lewis University.

The Bruins won 30-27, 23-30, 30-25, 30-24 in one hour and 58 minutes before 310 fans in Pauley Pavilion. The victory raised the Bruins' overall record to 11-9 and ended their four-match losing streak, which tied the longest in school history. The Flyers, who had won four straight matches, fell to 11-6 overall.

Senior All-American Libero Tony Ker set the all-time UCLA digs mark, recording 14 digs to increase his career total to 1,095. The previous record was held by Adam Shrader (2001-04), who had 1,089. Ker also raised his total of career double-digit digs to 53 and his season total to 11. Earlier this season, he set the single match digs record of 27 against Hawaii (Jan. 5).

In this match, the Bruins overcame 26 service errors by out-gunning the Flyers 73 kills to 58. The Bruins also hit .393 to the Flyers' ratio of .255. UCLA won the battle at the net, out-blocking Lewis, 10.0-9.5.

Junior Sean O'Malley spiked a career-high of 23 kills (.514) and sophomore Garrett Muagututia added 18 (.355). Junior Ryan Ratelle came off the bench and slammed 10 kills (.600) and added two total blocks for 11.5 points.

Jared Dayton and Drew Pickering each led Lewis with 13 kills.

The Bruins host UC Santa Cruz on Wednesday night at 7 p.m. in Pauley Pavilion before traveling to UC Irvine on Fri., Mar. 7 for an MPSF match at 7 p.m. in the Bren Center.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Jan 05 - 4:00 PM PST
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 08 - 4:30 PM PST
at Penn State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Jan 16 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 7:00 PM PST
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Feb 06 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA