Bruins Swept by Trojans

Jan. 27, 2007

Results

UCLA fell in three games to visiting USC Saturday night in the 30th Annual Kilgour Cup.

The Trojans won 30-19, 31-29, 33-31 in one hour and 43 minutes. The victory raised USC's overall record to 3-5, 2-3 in MPSF play. The Bruins fell to 3-6, 1-5. USC's triumph was also its first in the Kilgour Cup since 2000 and its first victory in Pauley Pavilion in six matches. The Trojans are 2-11 in Kilgour Cup matches against UCLA.

The Bruins never led in Game 1, gave away a late two-point lead in Game 2 and lost another lead in Game 3. In Game 2, the Trojans hit .593, committing their first hitting error at UCLA's 28th point.

So hot was the Trojans' hitting attack, that it committed just four errors for the match, and four starters were errorless in three games. Sophomore C.J. Schellenberg hit .452 with 17 kills and junior Juan Figueroa hit .625 with 16 kills.

For the match, USC hit .533 and limited the Bruins to an attack percentage of .232. The Trojans out-blocked the Bruins, 13.5-2.0. The Bruins recorded no blocks in Game 2.

UCLA freshman Garrett Muagututia led the Bruins with 17 kills (.433) followed by 15 from redshirt freshman opposite Brett Perrine.

The Bruins' home stand continues with a two-match series this week against Hawaii on Jan. 31 and Feb. 2 in Pauley Pavilion.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 05
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-18, 20-25, 23-25, 18-25)
Saturday, Feb 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(22-25, 25-22, 19-25, 25-18, 15-9)
Thursday, Feb 11
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-18, 23-25, 26-24, 18-20)
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-17, 25-18)
Friday, Feb 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
(32-30, 25-21, 25-19)
Sunday, Feb 21
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
(21-25, 25-20, 22-25, 20-25)
Wednesday, Feb 24
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 25-19, 25-13)
Saturday, Feb 27
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-20, 25-27, 25-16)
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
(21-25, 25-22, 25-18, 25-18)
Friday, Mar 04
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-22, 25-15, 25-23)
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-18, 25-20)
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-23, 25-21, 25-18)
Thursday, Mar 24
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
(19-25, 25-20, 23-25, 25-16, 15-7)
Saturday, Mar 26
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-19, 25-27, 13-25)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 20-25, 18-25, 23-25)
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 25-18, 25-22)
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 21-25, 25-16, 25-23)
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Hawai'i
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-16, 22-25, 25-21)
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Long Beach State
Provo, UT
(26-24, 28-26, 25-19)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT
(20-25, 19-25, 25-18, 15-25)
Thursday, May 05 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State or George ...
University Park, PA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS