Bruins Swept by Trojans

Jan. 27, 2007

Results

UCLA fell in three games to visiting USC Saturday night in the 30th Annual Kilgour Cup.

The Trojans won 30-19, 31-29, 33-31 in one hour and 43 minutes. The victory raised USC's overall record to 3-5, 2-3 in MPSF play. The Bruins fell to 3-6, 1-5. USC's triumph was also its first in the Kilgour Cup since 2000 and its first victory in Pauley Pavilion in six matches. The Trojans are 2-11 in Kilgour Cup matches against UCLA.

The Bruins never led in Game 1, gave away a late two-point lead in Game 2 and lost another lead in Game 3. In Game 2, the Trojans hit .593, committing their first hitting error at UCLA's 28th point.

So hot was the Trojans' hitting attack, that it committed just four errors for the match, and four starters were errorless in three games. Sophomore C.J. Schellenberg hit .452 with 17 kills and junior Juan Figueroa hit .625 with 16 kills.

For the match, USC hit .533 and limited the Bruins to an attack percentage of .232. The Trojans out-blocked the Bruins, 13.5-2.0. The Bruins recorded no blocks in Game 2.

UCLA freshman Garrett Muagututia led the Bruins with 17 kills (.433) followed by 15 from redshirt freshman opposite Brett Perrine.

The Bruins' home stand continues with a two-match series this week against Hawaii on Jan. 31 and Feb. 2 in Pauley Pavilion.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
25-19, 25-15, 25-14
Tuesday, Jan 05
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
25-23, 25-12, 25-20
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(24-26, 25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Jan 08
at Penn State
University Park, PA
(25-23, 22-25, 25-18, 21-25, 15-8)
Friday, Jan 15
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-19, 24-26, 25-23, 25-23)
Saturday, Jan 16
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
(25-18, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
(27-25, 25-21, 25-12)
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 23-25, 25-21, 25-19)
Monday, Jan 25
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-23, 25-16)
Wednesday, Jan 27
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
(23-25, 22-25, 25-19, 25-22, 15-13)
Friday, Jan 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
(20-25, 25-23, 27-25, 25-19)
Friday, Feb 05
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-18, 20-25, 23-25, 18-25)
Saturday, Feb 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(22-25, 25-22, 19-25, 25-18, 15-9)
Thursday, Feb 11
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-18, 23-25, 26-24, 18-20)
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Monday, Mar 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 7:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 7:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
TBA
Thursday, Apr 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
TBA
Saturday, Apr 23 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championship
TBA
Thursday, May 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Championships
University Park, PA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS