Zakiya Bywaters Selected as Semifinalist for MAC Hermann Trophy

Nov. 28, 2012

Pac-12 Player of the Year Zakiya Bywaters has been selected as a semifinalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy, awarded to the nation's top soccer player. Fans can contribute to the final selection by voting for Bywaters online here.

Bywaters, a senior forward from Las Vegas, Nev., led the Pac-12 in scoring with 15 goals, 34 points and six game-winning goals to earn top conference honors and first-team All-Pac-12 acclaim for the second consecutive year. It was a breakout year for the Bruin team co-captain, who entered the season with career totals of 8 goals and 33 points and surpassed those totals in just one season. She finishes her career with 23 goals, 21 assists, and 67 points.

Bywaters started 21 of 23 games this year while battling through injuries. She was named the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week twice and earned Soccer America National Player of the Week after scoring four goals and adding an assist in a pair of shutout wins over eventual NCAA Tournament teams Princeton and Pepperdine. She totaled five multiple-goal games and helped lead UCLA to an 18-3-2 overall record, NCAA Quarterfinal appearance, and a school-record 25-match unbeaten streak that ran from Oct. 14, 2011 to Oct. 28, 2012. In addition to being named a MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalist, she was also selected to the first team of Top Drawer Soccer's National Team of the Season.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer, is presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. NCAA Division I coaches who are NSCAA members may vote for their top choices starting today (Wednesday, Nov. 28) to Wednesday, Dec. 5. New this year is a fan voting component, conducted through LockerDome, which allows fans to also contribute to picking this year's MAC Hermann Trophy winners. VOTE HERE

The top three vote-getters will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will be announced during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013.

2012 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists
Natasha Anasi, Duke - Jr. D
Zakiya Bywaters, UCLA - Sr. F
Daphne Corboz, Georgetown - So. Mf
Crystal Dunn, North Carolina - Jr. F
Alina Garciamendez, Stanford - Sr. D
Maya Hayes, Penn State - Jr. F
Ines Jaurena, Florida State - Sr. D
Julie Johnston, Santa Clara - Jr. Mf
Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall, BYU - Sr. D
Kristen Mewis, Boston College - Sr. Mf
Caroline Miller, Virginia - Sr. F
Christine Nairn, Penn State - Sr. Mf
Kealia Ohai, North Carolina - Jr. F
Rachel Quon, Stanford - Sr. D
Erika Tymrak, Florida - Sr. Mf

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events