Golfers Tied For Fifth in Tennessee

Sept. 24, 2010

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter
UCLA Athletics on Facebook

UCLA's nationally ranked women's golf team was tied for fifth place after the first round Friday of the Mason Rudolph Championship in Franklin, TN.

The Bruins, who were two-over par at one point during the outward nine, recorded an opening round team score of 284 (-4) and were six shots behind first-place LSU (278, -10). Purdue and Cal were tied for second at nine-under par 279, followed by Duke at five-under par 283. The Bruins were tied with Georgia.

Individually for UCLA, junior All-American Stephanie Kono fired an opening round 69 (-3) and was tied for 10th place. Kono had a rocky start, going one-over par after three holes, but played the rest of the round in four-under par.

Freshman Ani Gulugian posted her second straight round of 70 (-2) and was tied for 17th place. Gulugian posted a score of 70 in the final round of the Fall Preview two weeks ago.

Third-year sophomore Lee Lopez, who was two-over par after six holes, played her final 12 holes in three-under and posted a score of 71 (-1). She was tied for 25th place.

Junior Brianna Do made eight straight pars to begin her day and played the final 10 holes in two-over par for a 74 (+2). She was tied for 51st. Sophomore Tiffany Lua recorded an uncharacteristic 78 (+6) -- her second worst score as a collegian -- and was tied for 79th place.

Wake Forest's Michelle Shin took the opening round lead with a seven-under par 65.

For complete results and tee times, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 09
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
T-5th (+26, 878)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Monday, Feb 22
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
T-6th (+17, 881)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 06 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 20 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 21 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 22 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 23 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, May 25 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS