Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Bruins Win Pac-12 Player and Coach of the Year
By: UCLA Athletics

Nov. 15, 2011

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Sophomore midfielder Kelyn Rowe and head coach Jorge Salcedo were each honored by the Pac-12 today, as they took home Pac-12 Player of the Year and Coach of the Year respectively. In addition, 12 UCLA players earned All-Pac-12 honors, the most since the Bruins had 14 All-Conference selections in 2002.

Receiving first-team all-conference honors were Rowe, senior Eder Arreola, junior Chandler Hoffman, senior Andy Rose and senior Brian Rowe. Junior Ryan Hollingshead and junior Matt Wiet received second-team acclaim. Victor Chavez, Victor Munoz, Evan Raynr, Shawn Singh and Joe Sofia each earned honorable mention.

Kelyn Rowe (Federal Way, WA/Federal Way HS) is the fourth UCLA player all-time to win Pac-12 Player of the Year, joining Matt Taylor (2003), Patrick Ianni (2004) and Michael Stephens (2008). Rowe is tied with Victor Munoz for the conference lead in assists (8) and is third in points (18). Three of his five goals this season were game-winners and he is second on the team only to Chandler Hoffman in points (18) and goals (5). Last season, Kelyn was Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and earned first-team All-Conference honors.

Jorge Salcedo led the Bruins to their seventh Pac-12 title this season and their third in four years. He also guided the team to an undefeated 10-0 record in Pac-12 play this season, marking the first time the Bruins have gone 10-0 in the Pac-12 since 2003. Despite getting off to a rocky 0-2-1 start, Coach Salcedo stayed the course and led the Bruins to 15 wins in their last 17 games. This is the third time that Jorge has earned Coach of the Year honors, previously winning the award in 2008 and earning Co-Coach of the Year in 2004. This season he earned his 100th win as UCLA head coach after defeating Cal 2-0 on Nov. 4, which was also the game in which the Bruins' clinched the Pac-12 title.

Hoffman (Birmingham, AL/Oak Mountain HS) has been on a tear this season, scoring 15 goals in his last 20 games for the Bruins and leading the team with 34 points. Earlier this year, he tied the UCLA record for consecutive games with a goal by scoring in five straight games and he has now scored an astounding 21 goals in his last 26 games as a Bruin. In addition, Chandler leads the Pac-12 in goals (15), goals per game (0.75), points (34) and points per game (1.70). Nationally, Hoffman is tied for ninth in goals and points scored and is 15th in points per game and goals per game. Also, Chandler's 15 goals are the most by a UCLA player since McKinley Tennyson Jr. scored 15 for the Bruins in 2000.

Rose (Bristol, England/Wycliffe College) earns his second consecutive first-team honor. It's his third overall as he also received an honorable mention nod as a freshman in 2008. Andy has started all 20 games this season and has recorded two goals and three assists while constantly being the anchor of the midfield.

Arreola (Chino Hills, CA/Edison Academic Center) is also making his second consecutive All-Pac-12 appearance after being named to Second-Team All-Conference a year ago. This season, Eder is tied for third on the team with 10 points (3 g, 4 a) while playing in 19 games.

Senior goalkeeper Brian Rowe (Eugene, OR/South Eugene HS) has had a stellar year for the Bruins, posting a single-season best nine shutouts. Rowe also has a 0.82 GAA on the season and a Pac-12 best 0.20 GAA in conference play. His nine shutouts are the most by a Bruin goalie since Eric Reed had 12 back in 2005.

Ryan Hollingshead (Granite Bay, CA/Granite Bay HS) received All-Conference honors for the second year in a row after being an honorable mention selection as a sophomore in 2010. He has two goals and three assists in 16 games this year with both goals coming as game-winners.

Wiet (Columbus, OH/Indiana University) is making his first career appearance on the All-Pac-12 team. Matt helped the Bruin defense allow only two goals to Pac-12 opponents this season and record nine shutouts on the season. He also has one assist while playing and starting in all 20 games this year.

Honorable mention selections Victor Chavez (Fontana, CA/A.B. Miller HS), Evan Raynr (Calabasas, CA/Viewpoint HS) and Shawn Singh (Bakersfield, CA/Garces Memorial HS) are all second-time honorees. Chavez has scored three goals and recorded three assists in 20 games this season while Raynr has two assists in 19 games. Singh has been an anchor in defense for UCLA and has one goal and five assists this year.

Joe Sofia (Dove Canyon, CA/Mission Viejo HS) and Victor Munoz (Madrid, Spain/Iona College) each made their first appearance on the All-Pac-12 team. Sofia has started all 20 games for the Bruins this year and has one goal and one assist as a defenseman while Munoz is tied with teammate Kelyn Rowe for the Pac-12 lead in assists with eight.

2011 Pac-12 First Team All-Conference
Eder Arreola, F/MF, Sr. - UCLA
Steve Birnbaum, D, Jr. - California
Jamie Finch, D, Sr. - Washington
Garrett Gunther, MF, Sr. - Stanford
Chandler Hoffman, F, Jr. - UCLA
Jacob Hustedt, MF, Sr. - Washington
Brent Richards, F, Sr. - Washington
Andy Rose, MF/D, Sr. - UCLA
Kelyn Rowe, MF, So. - UCLA
Brian Rowe, GK, RS Sr. - UCLA
Daniel Steres, D, Sr. - San Diego State
Emery Welshman, F, Jr. - Oregon State

2011 Pac-12 Second Team All-Conference
Pedro Adan, MF, RS Sr. - San Diego State
Jose Altamirano, MF, Jr. - San Diego State
Miles Byass, F, So. - San Diego State
Roberto Farfan, MF, Jr. - Oregon State
Ryan Hollingshead, MF/F, Jr. - UCLA
Adam Jahn, F, Jr. - Stanford
Spencer Richey, GK, So. - Washington
Tony Salciccia, MF, Jr. - California
Dylan Tucker-Gangnes, MF, Jr. - Washington
Abraham Villon, MF, Jr. - San Diego State
Matt Wiet, D, Jr. - UCLA

2011 Pac-12 Honorable Mention All-Conference
Seth Casiple (CAL, Fr., MF); Victor Chavez (UCLA, So., F); Ben Fisk (WASH, Jr., MF); John Fitzpatrick (CAL, Jr., F); Connor Hallisey (CAL, Fr., MF); Chris Harms (OSU, RS Jr., D); Blake Hylen (SDSU, RS So., GK); JJ Koval (STAN, So., MF); Colin Mitchell (OSU, RS Jr., MF/F); Victor Munoz (UCLA, So., MF); Evan Raynr (UCLA, Jr., F/MF); Shawn Singh (UCLA, Sr., D); Joe Sofia (UCLA, So., D).

Pac-12 Player of the Year: Kelyn Rowe, UCLA
Pac-12 Freshman of the Year: Seth Casiple, CAL
Pac-12 Coach of the Year: Jorge Salcedo, UCLA

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events