Bruins Fall in Four to Anteaters in Preseason Tournament

Nov. 17, 2006

The UCLA men's volleyball team fell in four games to UC Irvine and UC Santa Barbara outlasted Cal State Northridge in five in opening matches played on Friday at UCLA's preseason tournament.

The Anteaters defeated the Bruins, 30-21, 30-25, 30-32, 30-24, and the Gauchos beat the Matadors, 30-23, 28-30, 21-30, 30-24, 16-14.

Senior Steve Klosterman led the Bruins with 20 kills, followed by eight apiece from freshmen Shaun Nichols and Brett Perrine.

Senior Evan Patak hammered 21 kills for the Gauchos, followed by 13 each from Bryant Berman and Aaron Richman. Dan Rhodes led the Matadors with 18 kills, and James Lischer added 17.

In matches on Saturday, Nov. 18 at 10 a.m., UCLA meets UC Santa Barbara and UC Irvine plays CS Northridge. At 2 p.m. Saturday, UC Irvine battles UC Santa Barbara and at 3 p.m. UCLA meets Cal State Northridge. All matches are being played in UCLA's Student Activities Center and admission is free.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Jan 05 - 4:00 PM PST
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 08 - 4:30 PM PST
at Penn State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Jan 16 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 7:00 PM PST
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Feb 06 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA