Bohannon, Leach, Nguyen, Watkins and Williams Find Success on Final Day of RJ/JJK Invite

April 14, 2007

Complete Results

Saturday Results

Allie Bohannon, Nicole Leach, Jacqueline Nguyen, Rhonda Watkins and Renee Williams posted some of the top marks in the country on Saturday at Drake Stadium on the final day of the fifth annual Rafer Johnson/Jackie Joyner-Kersee Invitational as all four posted wins in their respective events.

Leach had a huge meet as she ran the No. 2 400m time in the country this season (52.33) to win the event. The mark is also a regional qualifier. Nguyen won the pole vault with a season-best jump and No. 3 mark in the country of 13-3.75.

Watkins made her 2007 debut in the high jump, clearing a regional qualifying mark of 5-10.75. She had good attempts at 6-0, but just couldn't quite clear the height.

Williams had a huge day as she jumped an outdoor lifetime-best of 21-0.50 to finish second overall. The mark was an improved regional qualifier and moved her to No. 6 on the national list. Williams also jumped a regional mark of 42-5.25 (#7 mark in the country) to win the triple jump competition.

Bohannon won the 1500m race with a lifetime-best and regional qualifying time of 4:23.59, dropping over seven seconds off of her previous best time (4:30.99). Ashley Caldwell finished just .03 seconds behind Bohannon in a time of 4:23.62 for second-place.

In the 100m hurdles, MacKenzie Hill ran a regional qualifying time of 13.91 to finish second overall.

The 4x400m relay team also posted a victory on Saturday as the Bruins won in a time of 3:38.83.

Up next
UCLA will travel down south next Friday and Saturday to compete at the UCSD Triton Invitational as the regular season is nearing the finish.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 26
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Friday, Mar 11
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Recap
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Recap
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Friday, May 27 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Saturday, May 28 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Wednesday, Jun 08 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jun 09 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Friday, Jun 10 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Jun 11 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS