Rachael Kidder Named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week

Sept. 5, 2011

UCLA Women's Volleyball on Facebook | 2011 Media Guide

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Junior Rachael Kidder has been named Pac-12 Conference Offensive Player of the Week after earning Most Outstanding Player honors at the Rainbow Wahine Volleyball Classic, helping the Bruins to three wins over ranked squads.

Kidder averaged 4.17 kills per set, 2.00 digs per set and 0.92 blocks per set, as the Bruins knocked off #23 Long Beach State on Thursday, #22 Ohio State on Friday and #10 Hawai'i on Sunday, all in four sets.

In the championship match of the tournament on Sunday against the host Rainbow Wahine, Kidder had a double-double with 17 kills and a career-high 12 digs, adding two aces and six blocks, which tied a personal best. She led or tied for the team lead in kills in each of the last three sets.

Kidder led the Bruins in kills in their other two wins. Against the 49ers, she recorded 18 kills, six digs and four blocks, leading the Bruins in kills in the first, third and fourth sets. Against the Buckeyes, Kidder, who leads the Bruins with 3.72 kills per set, added 15 kills and six digs, leading the Bruins in kills in the final two sets.

It is the first Player of the Week award for Kidder and the 56th all-time weekly recognition for UCLA. This year marks the first in which the conference has awarded Offensive, Defensive and Freshman Player of the Week accolades.

The Bruins, who jumped up four spots to eighth in the latest AVCA Top 25 poll released on Monday, will face local rival Pepperdine on Wednesday at 5 p.m. Gametracker, audio and video will be available at UCLABruins.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - TBA PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - TBA PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS