A Message From Athletic Director Dan Guerrero

April 29, 2011

Last month, after extensive deliberation with student leadership, Athletics announced new plans for the student seating in renovated Pauley Pavilion. This week, the Undergraduate Student Association Council (USAC) decided to further explore the overall student body reaction to the seating adjustment by placing a question on the upcoming election ballot. I fully support USAC's engagement in this process and look forward to working with them as we examine the results of the question. If ultimately, a return to the previously established student section is the desire, then that is what we will do.

A vibrant student body is an important part of any college campus. The same can be said when it comes to the importance of creating a home court advantage for a college basketball program. Engaged, supportive, and uproarious student sections can ignite the home team towards victory. Since its inception, Pauley Pavilion has been blessed to host generations of students, all of whom have played a pivotal role in earning Pauley its reverential status among college venues. In step with the current renovation of Pauley Pavilion, the Athletic Department sought to improve the student attendee experience by surveying 7,800 student ticket holders and asking what changes could and should be made toward that end. Many positive outcomes derived from this effort including productive dialogue with student leaders regarding altering student seating to one continuous unified section. This idea was derived from many respondents who felt disconnected by not all being together.

As a result, we moved forward with efforts to provide an option to unify the sections. Athletics presented the concept to multiple student leadership groups on campus for their evaluation. These groups included the Undergraduate Student Association Council (USAC) and its president, The Wooden Board of Governors, the Rally Committee and Spirit Squad leaders as well as the leadership of The Student Den. All were shown ways to feasibly create a unified section which would be viable from the floor, adjacent to the visiting bench, behind the west basket, and continuing to the top of the Pavilion, representing 2,000 seats, an increase of about 350 seats from the current layout. If the concept was embraced by these groups, then we could act upon it prior to the seating process in renovated Pauley Pavilion this fall. If not, then the section would stay as previously planned.

In these meetings, along with several additional focus groups that were graciously organized by USAC, there was tremendous support for the concept. After reviewing the feedback, we announced the new student section plans in March with a press release that included the USAC President and others student leaders speaking about the entire process. (To read March release, click here).

On a final note, I appreciate the passion surrounding this issue. As an alumnus of UCLA, I have joyous memories of cheering on my fellow student-athletes. There was nothing else like it. I can guarantee without any reservation that we are all committed to creating the best possible memories and environment for today's team members and their fellow students.

Thank you very much and GO BRUINS!

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA