Five Women's Water Polo Players Receive MPSF Honors

April 25, 2007

Senior Kelly Rulon and Junior Jillian Kraus were named to the All-MPSF First Team. Senior Goalie Emily Feher and Junior Courtney Mathewson were named to the All-MPSF Second Team, and Junior Brittany Rowe was named an Honorable Mention.

Kelly Rulon leads the team with 58 goals and 48 assists. She is currently fourth in the nation in goals scored and fourth in goals scored per game. This year she set a new UCLA record by scoring six goals in one game. Kelly has scored in 20 of the 24 regular season games played. She has 13 multiple-goal performances and has led the team in scoring in seven games. She is 11 goals away from breaking the all-time UCLA scoring record. The record of 235 goals is held by UCLA assistant coach Coralie Simmons. Kelly was last year's Player of the Year. She is the only member of the MPSF First Team that was unanimously selected by all twelve MPSF coaches.

Jillian Kraus is the team's second-leading goal scorer with 45 on the year. She has scored in all but three games for the Bruins, and has had 13 multiple-goal games this year. She was an MPSF Honorable Mention last year.

Emily Feher has been stellar in goal all year. She has made 131 saves in 17 starts, and contributed to the offense with ten assists. Emily has led the Bruin defense to the best goals against mark in the nation. She tallied ten saves in the final home game of her career, and the Bruins defeated USC, 8-7. She was an MPSF Honorable Mention last year.

Courtney Mathewson had 26 goals in the regular season. She has scored in 15 games, leading the team in scoring against California, UCI, and USC. This is Courtney's first MPSF honor.

Brittany Rowe scored 27 goals this year, and was third on the team with 18 earned ejections. She has scored in 16 games, with eight multiple-goal performances. Brittany led the team in goals against Stanford. This is her first MPSF honor.

The MPSF Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, and Coach of the Year will be announced after the MPSF tournament concludes this weekend in Tempe, Arizona.


Kelly Rulon UCLA

Erika Figge USC

Kelly Mason Hawai'i

Kami Craig USC

Katie Hansen Stanford

Christina Hewko Stanford

Jillian Kraus UCLA

Meridith McColl Stanford

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events