Golfers to Compete in the Battle at Rancho Bernardo Inn

March 18, 2011

Rancho Bernardo, CA -

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter
UCLA Athletics on Facebook

The No. 2/No. 3 (Golfweek/Golfstat) ranked UCLA women's golf team will travel to San Diego, CA to compete in the inaugural Battle at Rancho Bernardo Inn. The tournament will take place from Sunday, Mar. 20th to Tuesday, Mar. 22nd and will be played at Rancho Bernardo Golf Club.

Seventeen teams will battle for team and individual honors, including six from the Pac-10 (UCLA, Arizona, Arizona State, USC, Oregon and California) and nine ranked in the top 20 (USC (1), UCLA (3), Purdue (7), Arizona (8), Arizona State (9), Cal (10), Pepperdine (17), UC Davis (18) and Georgia (20)).

In their last tournament, the Bruins took home the team title at the Bruin Wave Invitational in Santa Clarita, CA with a score of 860 (-4). UCLA won the tournament by an astounding 20 strokes over second place Arizona, who finished with a score of 880 (+16).

Individually, the Bruins secured the top three spots in the tournament, with sophomore Lee Lopez capturing the individual title with back-to-back birdies on 17 and 18. She shot the lowest score of the day (-3) to earn first collegiate victory since transferring from Long Beach State in 2009. Senior Glory Yang finished in second place behind Lopez with a 213 (-3) while junior Stephanie Kono ended up in third after shooting a 214 (-2). As for the rest of the Bruins, sophomore Tiffany Lua finished tied for 18th with a final round 75 (+3) to give her a score of 224 (+8). Freshman Ani Gulugian ended up tied for 21st at 225 (+9) while junior Brianna Do competed as an individual and tied for 26th at 227 (+11).

Gulugian, Lopez, Lua, Kono and Yang will all be competing for the Bruins this week while Do will compete as an individual.

Fans at home can follow live scoring at Golfstat.com and for opening tee times click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS