UCLA Blanks Washington State, 7-0

March 3, 2007

PULLMAN, Wash.- The 15th-ranked UCLA women's tennis team completed its sweep of the Washington Schools on Saturday, posting a 7-0 victory over Washington State at the Simmelink Tennis Courts at Hollingbery Fieldhouse.

In doubles action, UCLA (2-0 Pac-10, 8-4) overall took an early 1-0 lead after Ashley Joelson and Yasmin Schnack defeated Ashley Spicer and Amy Toth, 8-0 in the No. 2 slot.

UCLA eventually captured the doubles point after Alex McGoodwin and Stephanie Wetmore slipped past Ekaterina Burduli and Marjolein van de Ven, 8-4. The WSU tandem tied the match at four, but couldn't hold off a late UCLA charge that captured the match.

In singles play, UCLA completed the sweep with victories in all six positions. Burduli suffered her seventh dual match loss of the season after falling to Schnack, 6-2, 6-2.

In the No. 2 slot, van de Ven dropped a tough first set, 6-4 and eventually dropped the second set 6-2 to UCLA's McGoodwin. UCLA continued in the third position after Joelson defeated Toth in straight-sets, 6-2, 6-3. UCLA secured the sweep with victories in the remaining three positions.

Doubles:
1.) McGoodwin/Wetmore (UCLA) def. Burduli/van de Ven (WSU) - 8-4
2.) Joelson/Schnack (UCLA) def. Spicer/Toth (WSU) - 8-0
3.) Lind/Lumpkin (UCLA) def. Cekic/Stefanova (WSU) - 8-6

Singles:
1.) Yasmin Schnack (UCLA) def. Ekaterina Burduli (WSU) - 6-2, 6-2
2.) Ashley Joelson (UCLA) def. Amy Toth (WSU) - 6-2, 6-3
3.) Alex McGoodwin (UCLA) def. Marjolein van de Ven (WSU) - 6-4, 6-2
4.) Elizabeth Lumpkin (UCLA) def. Aleksandra Cekic (WSU) - 6-1, 6-1
5.) Anna-Viktoria Lind (UCLA) def. Aleksandra Stefanova (WSU) - 6-2, 6-1
6.) Stephanie Wetmore (UCLA) def. Ashley Spicer (WSU) - 6-1, 6-1


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS