Ninth-Ranked UCLA Registers 6-1 Victory over No. 21 Washington

April 4, 2009

LOS ANGELES - The No. 9 UCLA men's tennis team extended its winning streak to seven on Saturday, as the Bruins registered a 6-1 victory over No. 21 Washington in a conference showdown at the Los Angeles Tennis Center.

UCLA (14-4; 4-0 Pac-10) was able to sweep the doubles play on Saturday, eventually clinching the point when 61st-ranked Amit Inbar and Harel Srugo downed Washington's Patrik Fischer/Tobi Obenaus, 8-5 at court No. 2.

The Bruins also had a fairly routine day in singles, winning five of six matches. After Nick Meister (court No. 3) and Michael Look (court No. 2) cruised to straight-set wins, UCLA took an insurmountable 4-0 lead when Inbar downed Obenaus, 7-6, 6-3 at the No. 5 position.

Both Holden Seguso (court No. 1) and Srugo (court No. 4) were also winners on the afternoon. Washington (12-7; 1-2 Pac-10) picked up its lone point on the day when Ryo Sekiguchi downed sophomore Ahmed Ismail, 5-7, 6-2, (10-6) at court No. 6.

UCLA has just one match on its schedule next week, hosting Arizona on Saturday at 1:00 p.m.

Doubles
1. Look/Meister (UCLA) def. Drabble/Kildahl (UW) - 8-5
2. (61) Inbar/Srugo (UCLA) def. Fischer/Obenaus (UW) - 8-5
3. Eugen Brazdil/Seguso (UCLA) def. Chu/Alex Rosinski (UW) - 8-3
UCLA Wins Doubles Point - Order of Finish: 3, 2, 1

Singles
1. Holden Seguso (UCLA) def. (113) Patrik Fischer (UW) - 4-6, 6-4, 7-6
2. (119) Michael Look (UCLA) def. Martin Kildahl (UW) - 6-3, 6-4
3. (114) Nick Meister (UCLA) def. David Chu (UW) - 6-1, 6-2
4. Harel Srugo (UCLA) def. Derek Drabble (UW) - 6-1, 6-7, (10-6)
5. Amit Inbar (UCLA) def. Tobi Obenaus (UW) - 7-6, 6-3*
6. Ryo Sekiguchi (UW) def. Ahmed Ismail (UCLA) - 5-7, 6-2, (10-6)

* Denotes Clinching Match - Order of Finish: 2, 3, 5, 6, 4, 1


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS