No. 1 UCLA Women's Water Polo Team Defeats No. 2 Stanford, 9-7

March 8, 2008

LOS ANGELES - The No. 1-ranked UCLA women's water polo team defeated No. 2-ranked Stanford, 9-7, Saturday afternoon at Sunset Canyon Recreation Center. The Bruins (19-0, 5-0 MPSF) jumped out to a three-goal lead in the second quarter and never looked back against visiting Stanford (12-3, 4-1 MPSF).

Senior Brittany Rowe led UCLA with three goals and senior Jillian Kraus and junior Katie Rulon each added two goals.

The Bruins got on the board first with a goal by Rowe at the seven-minute mark in the first quarter, before Stanford quickly with a strike from Heather West two minutes later. The score was tied, 3-3, after one quarter.

UCLA outscored Stanford in the second quarter, 3-0, to assume a 6-3 halftime advantage. Two of the Bruins' three second-quarter goals came from Rowe. Also noteworth was the passing of junior Anne Belden, who set up her teammates with great assists throughout the first half.

In the second half, the Bruins started out shaky after Rulon missed a penalty shot and Stanford's Lauren Silver scored two goals to cut the UCLA lead to 6-5. Less than a minute later Kraus extended the lead to 7-5 with her first of two second-half goals.

Junior goalkeeper Brittany Fullen helped the Bruins hold on to their lead with three fourth-quarter saves. With 3:44 to play, Rulon provided an insurance goal, putting UCLA ahead by the final 9-7 margin.

The Bruins are back in the pool on Sunday, March 9, hosting San Jose State at Sunset Canyon Recreation Center. Game time is slated for 1 p.m.

UCLA 9, Stanford 7

1 2 3 4 F
Stanford 3 0 3 1 7
UCLA 3 3 1 2 9

Stanford Goals: Kira Hillman 2, Heather West 2, Lauren Silver 2, Alex Koran 1
Stanford Saves: Amber Oland 5

UCLA Goals: Brittany Rowe 3, Katie Rulon 2, Jillian Kraus 2, Priscilla Orozco 1, Courtney Mathewson 1
UCLA Saves: Brittany Fullen 6


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Hawai'i
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 13 - 8
Saturday, Jan 23
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 8 - 5
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Long Beach State
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 4
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Michigan
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 7
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. USA Scrimmage
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 13
Saturday, Feb 13 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - TBA PST
vs. Loyola Marymount or ...
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 10:50 AM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
Saturday, Mar 05 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 7:40 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:40 PM PST
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 20 - 1:00 PM PST
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 12:15 PM PST
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 1:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Bakersfield, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS