Kelly Rulon Wins the Peter J Cutino Award

June 5, 2007

The Olympic Club of San Francisco announced Saturday, June 2nd, the 2006-2007 Peter J. Cutino Award recipients. This award is given to the outstanding female and male collegiate water polo players in the United States as voted by the coaches of the Division I schools. The winners were announced at the Eighth Annual Peter J. Cutino Awards Night Dinner held at the Olympic Club's City Clubhouse.

UCLA Senior Driver Rulon followed an outstanding 2006 campaign with another fantastic season, racking up 70 goals in 30 games for the 2007 NCAA and MPSF Champion Bruins. She led the best offense in the country in goals and assists, earning her Player of the Year in the MPSF.

This year, Kelly broke the UCLA single-game scoring record by netting six goals against LMU. She has scored in 25 of the Bruin's 30 games, including 15 multiple-goal performances. In the 2007 MPSF Championship Tournament, Kelly scored eight goals in a three game span for the Bruins, and was honored with the Tournament MVP award. She single-handedly outscored UCLA's championship opponent, netting four goals to Stanford's three.

Rulon was also named the NCAA Tournament MVP. In the first game of the event, she broke the all-time UCLA scoring record on her third of three goals against Pomona-Pitzer. She scored off of a penalty shot in the semifinals against USC, which was her UCLA-record 237th career goal, and 47th career postseason goal.

Because she redshirted in 2004 to participate in the Athens Olympics, Rulon has won a championship all four years she has played collegiate water polo. Kelly Rulon finishes her UCLA career with a staggering 113-10 record. She will go down as the most accomplished women's water polo player in UCLA history.

Only two other UCLA women's water polo players have won the Cutino award. Natalie Golda won in 2005, and Coralie Simmons won the award in 2001. The award is given annually in honor of the late Peter J. Cutino, the former University of California Berkeley and The Olympic Club coach, who passed away in September 2004. Mr. Cutino is in the U.S. Water Polo Hall of Fame. He won "Water Polo Coach of the Year" 17 times. He led U.C. Berkeley to eight NCAA National Championships. In his career Mr. Cutino also coached in the Olympic Games, the Pan American Games, the Water Polo World Championships and the World University Games.

Past Cutino Award Winners

1999 - Bernice Orwig (USC)

2000 - Aniko Pelle (USC) and Sean Kern (UCLA)

2001 - Coralie Simmons (UCLA) and Sean Kern (UCLA)

2002 - Brenda Villa (Stanford) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)

2003 - Jackie Frank (Stanford) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)

2004 - Moriah Van Norman (USC) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)

2005 - Natalie Golda (UCLA) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)

2006 - Lauren Wenger (USC) and Juraj Zatovic (USC)

2007 - Kelly Rulon (UCLA) and John Mann (Cal)

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
W, 23 - 2
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
W, 25 - 3
Saturday, Apr 09
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 8
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 16 - 6
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 8 (3OT)
Friday, Apr 29
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 10 - 3
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Stanford
Bakersfield, CA
L, 3 - 6
Sunday, May 01
vs. California
Bakersfield, CA
W, 7 - 5
Friday, May 13
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 17 - 4
Saturday, May 14
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 7
Sunday, May 15
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4