Don't have an account? Click Here
Mo Ostin Basketball Center

UCLA Title IX Memories - 1978 AIAW W. Basketball Championship
Courtesy: UCLA Athletics  
Release:  05/16/2012

May 16, 2012's Title IX tribute continues with memories from Ann Meyers Drysdale and Dr. Judith Holland of the groundbreaking 1978 AIAW Women's Basketball Championship won by UCLA in Pauley Pavilion.

The 1978 Bruins were led by future Hall of Fame coach Billie Moore. In her first year at UCLA, she guided the Bruins to a 27-3 overall record and dominating wins at the AIAW Sectionals to earn a spot in the AIAW Final Four on the Bruins' home court. In the semifinals, three Bruins recorded double-doubles - Denise Curry with 22 points and 14 rebounds, Heidi Nestor with 22 points and 10 rebounds, and Ann Meyers with 19 points and 14 rebounds - in UCLA's 85-77 victory over Montclair State.

That victory set up a national championship match against Maryland in front of an AIAW National Championship match record crowd of 9,351. Meyers nearly had a quadruple-double with 20 points, 10 rebounds, nine assists and eight steals, and Anita Ortega scored a game-high 23 points to lead UCLA to a 90-74 win.

‹ UCLA Women's Basketball

*UCLA 2015 #1 Football Jersey - Blue 
Price: $65.00
UCLA Football Poster Signed By Eric Kendricks Current: $200