UCLA Signs Irvine's Ani Gulugian to National Letter of Intent

Nov. 12, 2009

UCLA has signed Ani Gulugian, a member of the 2009 Jr. Solheim Cup Team, to a National Letter of Intent to play golf, Head Coach Carrie Forsyth announced Thursday.

Gulugian, 17, earned First-Team AJGA All-America honors last month after recording five Top 10 finishes on the junior circuit in the last 12 months. Her most impressive result was a third place finish at the Rolex Tournament of Champions in June where she posted scores of 70-72-72-71--285 (-3). She also tied for third at the Thunderbird International Junior and the 2008 Polo Golf Junior Classic. At the 2009 U.S. Girls Junior Championship, she finished fifth in medal play with scores of 73-70--143 (-1) and advanced to the third round of match play.

"We're thrilled to sign Ani Gulugian to a Letter of Intent," said Forsyth, "Ani is the top recruit in her class, and she's going to be a tremendous asset to our program. She's an All-American, and a member of the 2009 Junior Solheim Cup Team. She is the leader of her University High School golf team, and is a true team player and perfect fit for our team."

Most recently, Gulugian, ranked third nationally by GolfWeek, won the CIF-SS Southern Regional Championship by rolling in a 20-foot downhill putt in a sudden-death playoff. She had fired a 67 (-4) at Landmark in Hemet to force a playoff. She also led her University High squad to the team title.

Gulugian also qualified for the 2009 U.S. Women's Open at Suacon Valley and the U.S. Women's Amateur at Old Warson Country Club.

In other news...
Former UCLA All-American Maria Jose Uribe was in second place after the opening round of the LPGA Lorena Ochoa event at the Guadalajara Country Club in Mexico. Uribe fired a first-round score of 67 (-5), making six birdies and a bogey in her round.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 09
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
T-5th (+26, 878)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Monday, Feb 22
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
T-6th (+17, 881)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 06 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 20 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 21 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 22 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 23 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, May 25 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS