UCLA Baseball Defeats No. 25 UC Santa Barbara, 5-3

March 10, 2009

Box Score (HTML) | Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES - Right-hander Garett Claypool recorded six strikeouts in five innings and left-hander Mitchell Beacom recorded his first career save, logging four strikeouts in three scoreless frames, to lead UCLA past No. 25 UC Santa Barbara, 5-3, Tuesday evening at Steele Field at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

Left fielder Justin Uribe led the Bruins at the plate, going 3-for-3 with one run, to help UCLA (3-10) snap a 10-game losing streak. Center fielder Blair Dunlap extended his hitting streak to eight games, going 1-for-4.

Left-hander Matt Grace (1-1) claimed his first victory of the year, surrendering two runs (both unearned) in one hitless inning of relief. UC Santa Barbara right-hander Clayton Edwards (0-2) was tagged with the loss, surrendering three runs and six hits in 3.1 innings of relief.

In a back-and-forth contest, the Bruins claimed the game's first lead with one run in the first inning and another in the third. With two out in the bottom of the first, designated hitter Cody Decker grounded into a fielder's choice, allowing second baseman Eddie Murray to cross home plate before Uribe was tagged out heading from second to third base.

UCLA scored its second run in the third, when shortstop Niko Gallego raced home as first baseman Casey Haerther grounded into a double play.

UC Santa Barbara (9-3) scored one run in the fourth before added two runs in the sixth to assume a 3-2 advantage. The Gauchos reached base with a walk and a fielding error to open the frame. A groundout by third baseman Robby Cummings scored the first run, and a pass ball brought home shortstop Ryan Cavan.

The Bruins answered with a two-run sixth inning before adding an insurance run in the bottom of the eighth. In the sixth, Haerther led off with an infield single before Uribe reached first base safely with a bunt single. Both runners advanced 90 feet on a sacrifice bunt by Decker. Haerther scored on a wild pitch and Uribe crossed the plate on a single up the middle by right fielder Gabe Cohen.

In the bottom of the eighth, Haerther led off the frame with a walk, advanced to second on a single and moved to third on Decker's second sacrifice bunt of the evening. Catcher Steve Rodriguez drew a four-pitch walk with the bases loaded to score Haerther.

UCLA (3-10) hosts San Diego State (7-6) on Wednesday at Steele Field at Jackie Robinson Stadium. Game time is slated for 6 p.m.

Game Notes: Tuesday night's game against UC Santa Barbara marked UCLA's eighth consecutive contest against an opponent ranked in Baseball America's weekly top-25 poll...Blair Dunlap extended his season-long hitting streak to eight games...in three relief appearances, redshirt freshman Mitchell Beacom has logged eight strikeouts in 4.2 innings...Justin Uribe recorded three hits in a game for the first time this season and the fifth time in his career...Garett Claypool tied his career high with six strikeouts in his first start of the season.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 19
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 14
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 10
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 14 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 17 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS