Top-Seeded UCLA Downs Cal State Fullerton, 3-1 in NCAA First Round

Nov. 16, 2007

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - Junior midfielder Christina DiMartino had a hand in all three Bruins goals, as the top-ranked UCLA women's soccer team recorded a 3-1 victory over Cal State Fullerton on Friday evening in the first round of the NCAA Tournament at Drake Stadium. With the win, UCLA (17-1-2) advances to the second round and will face Oklahoma State on Sunday at 1:00 p.m. Oklahoma State (14-5-3) upset San Diego, 2-1 in the second match on Friday.

UCLA jumped out to an early lead in the match, scoring in just the fifth minute on a goal by forward Kristina Larsen, who was starting in place of Lauren Cheney. Lauren Wilmoth crossed a ball into the box, finding the feet of DiMartino, who turned a played a ball across the top of the box. Larsen ran onto it, sending a ball into the bottom left corner for her third goal of the year.

DiMartino helped create the Bruins' second goal a little more than three minutes later, as she made her way to the endline and lofted a ball deep in the Fullerton box. Midfielder McCall Zerboni beat everyone to it, poking the bouncing ball into the top left corner.

DiMartino would get a goal of her own in the 39th minute, as UCLA was awarded a penalty kick when forward Alma Playle was brought down in the box. DiMartino caught the goalkeeper guessing the wrong way, burying the kick for her sixth goal of the season.

Fullerton (12-8-2) avoided the shutout at the 83:26 mark, as Christina Murillo took advantage of an empty Bruin net. UCLA goalkeeper Valerie Henderson came out to challenge a ball in the box, however Fullerton midfielder Stacey Thompson got there first and punched it to Murillo, who sent it into the vacant goal.

"Obviously I'm pleased with the result," said UCLA head coach Jillian Ellis, who has guided the Bruins to four straight appearances in the NCAA College Cup. "I thought that there were periods in that game where we played quite well and our possession was good. But I thought after the second goal that we kind of took our foot off the gas a little bit and allowed Fullerton to get back into the game. But overall I was pleased with the match."

It marks the second straight year that UCLA has knocked Fullerton out of the NCAA Tournament, as the Bruins took a 3-1 win over the Titans in last year's second round. UCLA improves to 11-0 all-time against Fullerton. The Bruins, unbeaten in their last 19 matches, extended their home unbeaten streak to 38 in a row. Senior Danesha Adams started the 88th match of her career on Friday, tying former Bruin Whitney Jones for the school record for most starts.

Cheney did not play in Friday's match due to receiving a red card in the Bruins' regular-season finale against Washington.

Tickets for Sunday's match are $9 for adults and $7 for students/youth.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC
Sunday, Dec 06 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC