Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Bruin Swim & Dive Announces End of Year Awards
By: UCLA Athletics

May 11, 2007

The UCLA swim and dive team honored several athletes on Thursday afternoon at a team BBQ as the end of year awards for athletics and academics were given. Seniors Katie Nelson and Sara Clark were named team MVP's after stellar senior seasons which culminated in both earning All-American honors at the National Championships.


First Team: Tess Schofield

Second Team: Sara ClarkKristen Fischer, Nicolette Teo

Honorable Mention: Katie Arnold, Amanda Blong, Ellen Brooks, Brittany Hill, Jane Imagane, Courtney Iversen, Isabel Miesner, Marisa Samaniego, Madeleine Stanton

Katie Arnold - 100 Backstroke (6th), 200 Medley Relay (15th)
Sara Clark - 3 Meter Diving (13th)
Katie Nelson - 1650 Freestyle (5th)
Anna Poteete - 200 Medley Relay (15th)
Marisa Samaniego - 1 Meter Diving (6th)
Tess Schofield - Platform Diving (13th)
Nicolette Teo - 100 Breaststroke (15th), 200 Medley Relay (15th)
Amy Thurman - 200 Medley Relay (15th)


Academic Excellence: Awarded to the junior or senior class member who holds the highest cumulative GPA on the team.
*2007: Katherine Wong

Winter Quarter Team GPA: 3.16

*4.0: Courtney Iversen

*3.5 & above: Ellen Brooks, Sara Clark, Kristen Fischer, Isabel Miesner, Katie Nelson, Tess Schofield, Madeleine Stanton, Katherine Wong, Chiemi Yamamoto

*3.0 & above: Ashley Anlauf, Katie Arnold, Brittany Day, Jeana Fuccillo, Shannon Hackett, Brittany Hill, Jane Imagane, Julie Imagane, Luisa Los-Santos, Shannon Pirozzi, Marisa Samaniego, Nicolette Teo, Amy Thurman, Katie Wong

High Point Award Winner: Awarded to the athlete, who during the season, scores the most points of anyone on that team.
*2007: Katie Arnold

Most Valuable Swimmer/Diver: Awarded to the athletes who do the most to contribute to the greatness of UCLA Swim & Dive.
*2007: Katie Nelson and Sara Clark

Outstanding Newcomer: Awarded to the first year athlete who has the greatest impact on the progress or improvement of the UCLA Swimming & Diving Team.
*2007: Ashley Anlauf

Bruin Relay Award: Awarded to the greatest relay swimmer of the year. Following in the footsteps of Malin Svahnstrom, Sara Platzer, Keiko Price, Kristy Heydanek, Christy Richardson, Julie Vogt and Jenny Susser.
*2007: Anna Poteete

Most Improved: Awarded to the athlete who shows the most dramatic improvement during the season.
*2007: Katie Nelson

Bruin Pride: Awarded to the athlete who most selflessly displays the highest levels of character and integrity in the spirit of helping the team. A team member who has an "eagerness" to put the interests of the team ahead of their own. This athlete is completely dedicated to the constant improvement of both the program and the team around them. "What can I do to help our team today" is their attitude.
*2007: Jeana Fuccillo

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events