Josh Shipp and Kevin Love on Mid-Season Naismith Award List

Jan. 29, 2008

Kevin Durant has started a trend. A year after the former University of Texas phenom became the first freshman ever to win the Naismith Trophy, his feat may be repeated in 2008 as six rookies occupy spots on mid-season Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough, the lone returnee from last year's four finalists, is joined by rookies Michael Beasley (Kansas State), Eric Gordon (Indiana), James Harden (Arizona State), Kevin Love (UCLA), O.J. Mayo (USC) and Derrick Rose (Memphis). Love was named the 2007 Naismith National High School Player of the Year.

Bruin teammate Josh Shipp joins Love on the list, making UCLA one of just five schools with multiple players on the list. North Carolina has three players while UCLA, Indiana, memphis and Texas each have two.

The Top 30 men's list was voted on by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season, and the list was narrowed down from the pre-season list of 50 candidates who were announced at the beginning of the season. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men's and women's college basketball players of the year.

"With the influx of talent of the freshmen class it's not surprising to see so many young players vying for the player of the year award," said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president. "Overall, this is an extremely balanced group and it will most assuredly go down to the wire in determining a winner for the most prestigious trophy in college basketball."

Again this year AT&T will give fans an unprecedented voice in selecting the winner. Fan voting, through the power and ease of text messaging, will account for 25 percent of the selection process. This program sets the standard in college athletics for integrating fans into the voting process and providing them with more input than with any other major collegiate sports award.

Beginning Feb. 9, CBS Sports' "AT&T AT THE HALF" will feature a weekly Naismith Trophy Watch highlighting the men's players in contention for the coveted award who have distinguished themselves throughout the season. On March 23, CBS will announce the four Naismith Trophy finalists.

Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until April 5. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate. The Men's Naismith Trophy winner will be announced April 6 at the 2008 NCAA Final Four in San Antonio.

For more information, visit

The mid-season candidates for the Naismith Men's Trophy presented by AT&T, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

2008 Naismith Men's Mid-Season Candidates

Last First Position Class School

Abrams A.J. Guard Junior Texas

Arthur Darrell Forward Sophomore Kansas

Augustin D.J. Guard Sophomore Texas

Beasley Michael Forward Freshman Kansas State

Brockman Jon Forward Junior Washington

Budinger Chase Forward Sophomore Arizona

Curry Stephen Guard Sophomore Davidson

Douglas-Roberts Chris Guard Junior Memphis

Ellington Wayne Guard Sophomore North Carolina

Foster Shan Guard/Forward Senior Vanderbilt

Gordon Eric Guard Freshman Indiana

Green Mike Guard Senior Butler

Harden James Guard Freshman Arizona State

Hansbrough Tyler Forward Junior North Carolina

Harangody Luke Forward Sophomore Notre Dame

Hibbert Roy Center Senior Georgetown

Lawson Ty Guard Sophomore North Carolina

Love Kevin Forward Freshman UCLA

Mayo O.J. Forward Freshman USC

Neitzel Drew Guard Senior Michigan State

Nelson DeMarcus Guard Senior Duke

Reynolds Scottie Guard Sophomore Villanova

Rice Tyrese Guard Junior Boston College

Roberts Brian Guard Senior Dayton

Rose Derrick Guard Freshman Memphis

Shipp Josh Guard/Forward Junior UCLA

Singletary Sean Guard Senior Virginia

Weaver Kyle Guard Senior Washington State

White D.J. Forward Senior Indiana

Young Sam Forward Junior Pittsburgh

Last year's Naismith Trophy recipient, Durant, became the first freshman in the 39-year history of the award to win, edging out seniors Acie Law IV of Texas A&M and Alando Tucker of Wisconsin. Hansbrough, a junior and two-time All America, seeks to become the 16th Atlantic Coast player and first Tar Heel since Antawn Jamison in 1998 to win the Naismith Trophy.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 75 - 81
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX