Bruins Stave Off Sun Devils, 72-70

Dec. 31, 2009

Final Stats |  Photo Gallery 

LOS ANGELES (AP) -Nikola Dragovic tied career highs with six 3-pointers and 23 points and UCLA held on after blowing nearly all of a 16-point lead to beat Arizona State 72-70 Thursday in the teams' Pac-10 opener.

The Bruins (6-7) hit a season-high 11 3-pointers in winning for the fourth time in five games after a five-game losing streak had left them with the worst non-conference record among league teams.

Rihards Kuksiks scored 15 points for the Sun Devils (10-4). Ty Abbott and Derek Glasser added 12 points each. Glasser scored seven points in the final 1:03.

Malcolm Lee added 16 points, Michael Roll 12, and Reeves Nelson and Jerime Anderson 10 each for the Bruins.

UCLA built its largest lead of 16 points early in the second half before getting outscored 28-13. Abbott had eight points and Demetrius Walker seven in the spurt that left the Sun Devils trailing 60-59.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Nov 23 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
Tuesday, Nov 24 - TBA PST
vs. Kansas or Chaminade
Lahaina, HI
Wednesday, Nov 25 - TBA PST
vs. Maui Jim Maui ...
Lahaina, HI
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA