Bruin Netters Begin Play in Ojai

April 28, 2011

Ojai, Calif. - UCLA tennis players McCall Jones and Adrien Puget each won a pair of singles matches on Thursday to reach the main draw quarterfinals at the 2011 Pac-10 Championships in Ojai, Calif.

Jones, who is unseeded in the 32-player women's draw, began her day with a 6-2, 6-1 win over Stanford's Veronica Li. She followed that up with a 7-5, 6-2 upset over eighth-seeded Taylor Davis of California. Jones will square off against fourth-seeded Nicole Gibbs of Stanford on Friday at Noon.

Puget, who like Jones is also unseeded, defeated Washington's Marton Bots, 6-4, 6-1 in the first round. He then upset fourth-seeded Ryan Thacher of Stanford, 4-6, 6-3, 7-6(5) in the round of 16. Awaiting Puget in the quarterfinals is USC's Emilio Gomez. The two freshmen are scheduled to meet on Friday at Noon.

Both Amit Inbar and Clay Thompson could also reach the quarterfinals, as their round of 16 matches were scheduled for later on Thursday.

Draws from the 2011 Pac-10 Championships can be accessed by clicking HERE.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Friday, May 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS