2016 NFL Draft
Rahim Moore Named Semi-finalist For Jim Thorpe Award

Nov. 2, 2010

Oklahoma City --- The Jim Thorpe Award Screening Committee has announced the names of 10 semi-finalists for the award given annually to the nation's best college defensive back, and junior Rahim Moore has been named one of those semi-finalists.

The 2010 award marks the 25th presentation of the trophy, first won in 1986 by Baylor's Thomas Everett. Last year's winner was the University of Tennessee's Eric Berry, now playing for the Kansas City Chiefs.

The 2010 semi-finalists are:
Prince Amukamara, Sr., Nebraska
Mark Barron, Jr., Alabama
Chimdi Chekwa, Sr., Ohio State
Brandon Harris, Jr., Miami (FL)
Cliff Harris, Soph., Oregon
Tejay Johnson, Sr., TCU
Joe Lefeged, Sr., Rutgers
Rahim Moore, Jr., UCLA
Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU
Tyler Sash, Jr., Iowa

Moore is currently third on the squad with 53 tackles and tied for 17th in the Pac-10 wiht a 6.63 average. He has had one interception this season for 42 yards.

About the Jim Thorpe Award:
The Jim Thorpe Award is one of college football's most sought after and prestigious awards. It is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back. Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as "The Legend", Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The candidates for the award are selected by a "screening committee" of Jim Thorpe Association members who follow several players throughout the season, watching games and researching information sources to grade Thorpe Award candidates on the basis of performance on the field, athletic ability and character. The committee then narrows the field to three finalists and the names of these finalists are submitted to a national panel of about 50 sports writers, sportscasters, coaches and former players who vote to determine the winner.

The announcement of the Jim Thorpe Award winner will be featured on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

The Thorpe Award winner will be announced on the show and the official presentation will be at a formal banquet in Oklahoma City on February 7, 2011.

Fans can visit the show's dedicated Web site at ESPNcollegefootballawards.com to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

Each week during the season, Phil Steele Publications and staff have overlooked the candidates issued by the school, the conference and distinguished committee members. After including his own personal input, the weekly winner has been announced every Thursday at jimthorpeassoc.org and PhilSteele.com.

The Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official web site, NCFAA.org.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 03 - 12:30 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Sep 10 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UNLV
Pasadena, CA
Saturday, Sep 17 - 7:15 PM PST
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT
Saturday, Sep 24 - TBA PST
vs. Stanford
Pasadena, CA