UCLA Women's Tennis Ranked 15th to Start the Season

Jan. 9, 2007

The UCLA women's tennis team earned a No. 15 ranking to start the season with four Bruin women ranked in the top-100 as the Fila Collegiate Tennis Rankings were announced on Tuesday.

Reigning NCAA Champion Stanford held down the No. 1 spot, earning 28 first-place votes. Florida, USC, Notre Dame and Miami round out the top-five vote-getters.

Freshman Yasmin Schnack leads the Bruins with her 28th-place rank, followed closely by junior Riza Zalameda (35th) and sophomore Ashley Joelson (40th). Tracy Lin is the final player in the top-100, coming in at No. 61.

In doubles rankings, the duo of Zalameda and Schnack rank 17th.

Audra Cohen of Miami is the top-ranked singles player, while the team of Megan Moulton-Levy and Katarina Zoricic (College of William and Mary) are the No. 1 doubles team.

The women will open up the 2007 season this weekend as they compete at two tournaments - the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Indian Wells, CA and the Freeman Memorial Championships in Las Vegas, NV.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Thursday, Feb 18
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 6
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 5
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Friday, Mar 11
at California
Berkeley, CA
Rained out.
Saturday, Mar 12
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 1 - 5
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Friday, Apr 01
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Apr 03
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Columbus, OH
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS