UCLA Baseball's Cohen, Claypool Named Rivals.com Freshman All-Americans

June 12, 2007

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. - UCLA outfielder Gabe Cohen and right-handed pitcher Garett Claypool have captured Rivals.com Freshman All-America honors. Cohen was one of three outfielders to earn Freshman All-America first-team honors, and Claypool gained Freshman All-America second-team accolades as a relief pitcher.

The announcement from Rivals.com comes one day after Cohen and Claypool earned All Ping!Baseball freshman team accolades. Cohen has also earned Pac-10 Co-Newcomer of the Year accolades and Collegiate Baseball Freshman All-America honors.

Cohen, Jordan Henry (Mississippi) and Mark Sobolewski (Miami) were the three outfielders named Freshman All-America first-team selections by Rivals.com. Claypool and UC Riverside right-hander Joe Kelly earned Freshman All-American second-team honors in the relief pitcher category.

Cohen hit at a .345 clip his first season at UCLA, posting the second-highest batting average on the club. The Woodland Hills, Calif., resident swatted 10 home runs and collected 36 RBI, 35 runs and a .549 slugging percentage. Cohen's totals of 10 home runs and 36 RBI were the highest by a freshman at UCLA since Wes Whisler collected 18 home runs and 46 RBI in 2002.

Claypool tallied a 3.54 ERA, a 3-1 record and four saves in 24 appearances. The West Hills, Calif., native recorded 35 strikeouts in 53.1 innings. The freshman right-hander excelled as UCLA's primary Tuesday starter. In seven starts (all Tuesday games), Claypool compiled a perfect 3-0 record and tallied a 1.82 ERA in 29.2 innings.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS