Bruins Win Ninth Pacific-10 Conference Softball Title

May 8, 2009

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - Junior Megan Langenfeld tossed a four-hit shutout, striking out five, and sophomore Monica Harrison drove in the game's lone run on a single in the fourth, as the Bruins claimed their ninth Pacific-10 Conference softball title with a 1-0 victory over Stanford on Friday at Easton Stadium.

The Bruins improve to 40-9 overall to record their 24th 40-win season. With one game to play, UCLA is 15-5 in the Pac-10 and two games up on Stanford and Washington, which lost to California on Friday.

Langenfeld improves to 14-1 in the circle this season and registered her fourth complete-game shutout of the year. Sophomore Katie Schroeder had a pair of hits for the Bruins, who had five.

UCLA had chances in the first and second but left two on in each inning before getting on the board in the fourth. Junior Kaila Shull reached on a fielding error by Stanford pitcher Missy Penna to start off the inning and moved to second on a sacrifice by junior Julie Burney. One out later, Harrison came through with a single up the middle to plate Shull and give the Bruins the only run they would need.

Langenfeld cruised through the first five innings, allowing only a leadoff single to Maddy Coon in the second. In that inning, Langenfeld battled Melisa Koutz to an amazing 32-pitch at-bat, finally striking her out to end the marathon at-bat. Later in the inning, she jammed Maya Burns on a pitch that saw the Stanford player break her bat. She would go on to strikeout Burns to end the second.

Langenfeld retired 12 in a row after Coon's hit before running into trouble in the sixth when the Cardinal got two runners on base. But Ashley Hansen lined into a double play to end the inning. In the seventh, Stanford (44-8, 13-7 Pac-10) loaded the bases on singles by Coon and Koutz and a hit by pitch of Brittany Minder. But Mary Kate Smith grounded out to second to give the Bruins the win and the Pac-10 championship.

Penna (31-6) allowed one unearned run, five hits and one walk in six innings with two strikeouts.

The Bruins wrap up the regular season on Saturday against Stanford. First pitch is at 12 p.m. Senior Amanda Kamekona will be honored in a pre-game ceremony. Gametracker and live audio will be available on UCLABruins.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Feb 12
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
L, 1 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
W, 7 - 3
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 8 - 3
Friday, Feb 19
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
W, 2 - 0
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
L, 6 - 8
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
L, 5 - 10
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Feb 26
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
W, 14 - 6 (5)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 4
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
L, 7 - 11
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, May 07 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS