UCLA Continues Play in Napa

Sept. 24, 2011

St. Helena, Calif. - UCLA's Warren Hardie, Clay Thompson and Adrien Puget all posted straight-set singles wins on Saturday, as the Bruins continued play at the Land Rover Napa Valley Classic at the Meadowood Resort.

Below are Saturday's complete results

Singles
Nick Andrews (Cal) def. Ed Jones (Tennessee), 6-0, 6-1
JC Aragone (USTA) def. Blake Bazarnik (Vanderbilt), 6-7 (6), 6-3, 6-3
Ahmed Ismail (Cal) def. Casey Watt (Notre Dame), 6-3, 4-6, 6-3
Nikko Madregallejo (USTA) def. Grant Ive (Tulsa), 6-2, 1-6, 6-3
Ashley Watling (Tulsa) def. def. Ben McLachlan (Cal), 4-6, 6-3, 6-1
Luca Corinteli (USTA) def. Gonzalez Austin (Vanderbilt), 6-3, 6-4
Clifford Marsland (Tulsa) def. Brandon Fickey (Tennessee), 7-6 (2), 6-4
Alexios Halebian (USTA) def. Alex DiValerio (Vanderbilt), 6-3, 7-5
Christopher Konigsfeldt (Cal) def. Hunter Reese (Tennessee), walkover
Clay Thompson (UCLA) def. Michael Redlicki (USTA), 6-3, 7-5
Connor Farren (USTA) def. Dennis Mkrtchian (UCLA), 6-4, 4-6, 6-2
Greg Andrews (Notre Dame) def. Japie De Klerk (Tulsa), 6-4, 6-7 (3), 6-1
Adrien Puget (UCLA) def. Niall Fitzgerald (Notre Dame), 6-1, 6-4
Sam Keeton (Notre Dame) def. Jarryd Chaplin (Tennessee), 6-4, 6-4
Warren Hardie (UCLA) def. Spencer Papa (USTA), 6-4, 6-2
Charlie Jones (Vanderbilt) def. Mitchell Kreuger (USTA), 1-6, 6-4, 6-3

Doubles
Nick Andrews-Christopher Konigsfeldt (Cal) def. Blake Bazarnik-Alex DiValerio (Vanderbilt), 8-3
Sam Keeton- Casey Watt (Notre Dame) def. Dennis Mkrtchian-Adrien Puget (UCLA), 8-6
Clay Thompson-Warren Hardie (UCLA) def. Jarryd Chaplin-Brandon Fickey (Tennessee), 8-4

TWO-DAY TEAM TALLY
USTA Juniors: 10-6
Cal: 6-2
UCLA: 6-2
Tulsa: 4-4
Notre Dame: 4-4
Tennessee: 1-7
Vanderbilt: 1-7

Sunday's Schedule
Ismail (Cal) vs. Madregallejo (USTA)
Watt (ND) vs. Ive (Tulsa)
N. Andrews (Cal) vs. Bazarnik (Vandy)
E. Jones (Tenn) vs. Aragone (USTA)
De Klerk (Tulsa) vs. DiValerio (Vandy)
G. Andrews (ND) vs. Halebian (USTA)
Watling (Tulsa) vs. Corinteli (USTA)
B. McLachlan (Cal) vs. Austin (Vandy)
Marsland (Tulsa) vs. Farren (USTA)
Mkrtchian (UCLA) vs. Fickey (Tenn)
Thompson (UCLA) vs. Keeton (ND)
Chaplin (Tenn) vs. Redlicki (USTA)
C. Jones (Vandy) vs. Fitzgerald (ND)
Puget (UCLA) vs. Krueger (USTA)
Konigsfeldt (Cal) vs. Papa (USTA)
Hardie (UCLA) vs. Reese (Tenn)

EVENT FORMAT: Each school is represented by four players to compete alongside the eight juniors, and the 32-man field is split into eight pools featuring three collegians and a junior. Following three matches in pool play, the eight pool winners will compete in a single-elimination, 10-point tiebreak tournament. The winner of the tournament will receive a USTA-sponsored wild card into a USTA Pro Circuit event that is yet to be determined.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS