UCLA Baseball Earns 7-3 Victory at No. 15 San Diego State

April 14, 2009

Box Score (HTML) | Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

SAN DIEGO - Right-hander Garett Claypool totaled a career-high eight strikeouts and no walks to lead the UCLA baseball team past No. 15 San Diego State, 7-3, on Tuesday evening at Tony Gwynn Stadium. Trailing 3-2 in the top of the eighth, the Bruins (14-19) scored five runs and held on for the victory.

UCLA scored the game-tying and go-ahead runs on a two-RBI double by second baseman Eddie Murray over the head of left fielder Josh Chasse, allowing third baseman Chris Amezquita and designated hitter Tyler Rahmatulla to score. After a fielder's choice, center fielder Blair Dunlap doubled to right field, scoring Murray and shortstop Niko Gallego. A bunt single to third base by catcher Gino Aielli allowed Dunlap to score from third base.

UCLA left-hander Matt Grace (3-2) earned the victory, allowing one hit and notching two strikeouts in 2.2 innings of scoreless relief. Left-hander Gavin Brooks logged two strikeouts in the ninth inning.

San Diego State right-hander James McLaughlin (2-1) absorbed the loss, surrendering four runs (one earned) and four hits in 2.1 innings of relief for the host Aztecs (25-13).

The Bruins were led at the plate by Murray, who went 2-for-6 with three RBI and one run. First baseman Cody Decker (2-for-4) and right fielder Justin Uribe (2-for-2) were the only other Bruins to notch multiple-hit efforts. Rahmatulla reached base safely in each of his first three plate appearances, recording an RBI-single before drawing a walk and being hit by a pitch.

San Diego State scored its first two runs in the first and second innings, receiving solo homers by second baseman Mitch Blackburn and right fielder Cory Vaughn, respectively.

After Blackburn's solo blast, UCLA tied the contest in the top of the second. Left fielder Gabe Cohen led off the frame with a single through the right side of the infield and stole second base. After Rahmatulla drew a walk on 13 pitches, Murray laced a bases-loaded single into left field, scoring Cohen.

The Aztecs pushed ahead, 2-1, with Vaughn's round-tripper to center field in the bottom of the second. UCLA answered in the top of the third, tying the contest 2-2 with an RBI-single to right field by Rahmatulla, allowing Cohen to score from second base.

San Diego State captured a 3-2 lead in the bottom of the sixth. With one out, first baseman Brandon Meredith doubled to right field. Third baseman Erik Castro followed with a run-scoring single up the middle.

UCLA returns home to open a three-game Pac-10 series against Washington on Friday, April 17. Game time at Jackie Robinson Stadium is 6 p.m. The Bruins and Huskies will play on Saturday at 2 p.m. and Sunday at 1 p.m. Live audio broadcasts of each Pac-10 contest will be available free of charge at uclabruins.com.

Game Notes: Garett Claypool has totaled 23 strikeouts and just four walks in 18.0 innings this spring...Tyler Rahmatulla recorded the longest at-bat of the season by a Bruin, drawing a walk on 13 pitches...Gabe Cohen recorded two stolen bases in one game for the second time in his career (previously, at Cal Poly on March 15, 2008)...UCLA's pitching staff notched 11 strikeouts, marking the 15th game this season in which the Bruins have totaled 10 or more strikeouts on the mound...UCLA earned its first win at San Diego State since April 10, 2001.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 19
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 14
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 10
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 14 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 17 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS