UCLA Women's Water Polo Earns No. 3 Seed in 2010 NCAA Tournament

May 3, 2010

2010 NCAA Tournament Bracket (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA women's water polo team has secured the No. 3 seed in the eight-team NCAA Tournament and will face No. 6-seed Loyola Marymount (27-4) in the first round on Friday, May 14 at San Diego State University.

UCLA has earned the tournament's No. 3 seed for the second consecutive season.

The Bruins (20-7), who claimed an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament after having won the MPSF Tournament title on Sunday, will make their ninth appearance in the 10-year history of the NCAA Championships. In the 16-year history of UCLA's program, the Bruins have won 11 national titles (seven NCAA) and have advanced to the national tournament in 15 seasons.

In eight NCAA Tournament appearances, the Bruins have won seven NCAA Championships, compiling a 20-1 cumulative record. UCLA has posted a combined 43-4 record in 14 trips to the annual national tournament.

UCLA defeated Loyola Marymount, 8-4, in a non-conference road match on Saturday, April 8. The Bruins' first-round match against LMU is scheduled for 2:15 p.m. (PT) in San Diego on May 14.

The tournament's No. 1 seed was awarded to Stanford (24-2), which finished third at the MPSF Tournament over the weekend. No. 1-seed Stanford will face No. 8-seed Pomona-Pitzer in first-round action.

The winner of the UCLA-LMU match will face either No. 2-seed USC (22-3) or No. 7-seed Marist (18-15) in a semifinal contest on May 15. The final first-round meeting features No. 4-seed California (24-8) against No. 5-seed Michigan (32-6).

UCLA won the MPSF Tournament at the Bruins' first-year Spieker Aquatics Center last weekend, defeating Hawai'i, 8-6, in the first-round match before edging Stanford, 7-6, and USC, 8-7, on back-to-back afternoons. The Bruins last won the MPSF Tournament title in 2008.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events