NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
UCLA Men's Water Polo to Host Alumni Game Saturday at Noon

Oct. 6, 2006

Los Angeles - The third-ranked UCLA men's water polo team will host its annual Alumni Game at noon on Saturday, Oct. 7, at the Rose Bowl Aquatics Center. Following Friday evening's non-conference match at UC San Diego, the Bruins will battle a talented and historic group of former UCLA men's water polo players.

The tentative alumni roster features 27 former Bruins, as each of UCLA's last five NCAA championship teams are represented (2004, 2000, 1999, 1996 and 1995). Four former Olympians (current assistant coach Brandon Brooks, Dan Hackett, Sean Kern and Adam Wright) will suit up for the alumni team. Head coach Adam Krikorian and assistant coach Matt Flesher will accompany Brooks and face their current players. Likewise, 15 former All-America selections will compete for the alumni team.

Also appearing at the Rose Bowl Aquatics Center will be former head coach Bob Horn. While at UCLA, Horn led the men's water polo program to four NCAA championships from 1963-1990. Horn coached 36 first-team All-Americans and nine Olympians. He also guided the Bruins to 50 consecutive victories over five years and coached four undefeated squads.

Last season, the alumni team defeated the Bruins, 10-8. The alumni used six fourth-quarter goals to overcome a 7-4 deficit after three quarters and hold on for the victory.

Following Saturday's exhibition between the 2006 Bruins and the alumni, UCLA's football team hosts Pac-10 opponent Arizona at the Rose Bowl. Game time is 4 p.m.

Alumni roster (tentative): Andy Bailey (1997-00), Sam Bailey (1997-99), Peter Belden (2001-04), Parsa Bonderson (1996-99), Brandon Brooks (1999-02), Brian Brown (1997-00), Jay Campbell (1964-66), Steve Covec (1994-97), Matt Flesher (1999-02), Albert Garcia (2001-02, 04), Steve Granick (1987-89), Dan Hackett (1988-91), Aaron Harries (1995-98), Josh Hewko (2001-04), Neil Hueston (1997-99), Sean Kern (1997-00), Adam Krikorian (1992-95), James Palda (1996-99), Ted Peck (2001-04), Hank Peterson (1986-88), Jeff Pflueger (1998-01), Jon Puffer (1998-00), Matt Swanson (1993-96), Blake Wellen (1997-00), Jeff Wimbish (1991-92), Adam Wright (1997-00), Donn Yamada (1986-89).

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events