Bruins Tied for 10th after Round One in Hawaii

Feb. 2, 2011

Kohala Coast, HI -

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter
UCLA Athletics on Facebook

The No.1/No. 2 ranked UCLA men's golf team finished the day tied for 10th place after the opening round of the Amer Ari Invitational at Waikola Kings Golf Course.

The Bruins posted a team score of 285 (-3) and trail leaders USC, who posted a score of 271 (-17), by 14 strokes. USC holds a seven stroke lead over second place teams Georgia Tech and Oklahoma State, who each posted a score of 278 (-10). Arizona State finished in fourth after posting a 279 (-9) while Oregon took fifth with a 281 (-7).

Individually, sophomore Pontus Widegren had the best score of the day for the Bruins, shooting a 69 (-3) and finishing tied for 10th place. Widegren had five birdies on the day including three on the final three holes to make a late charge up the individual leaderboard. Junior Gregor Main had a solid round as well, earning birdies at 16 and 18 to shoot 71 (-1) and finish in a tie for 31st.

The three remaining players, sophomore Mario Clemens and freshmen Patrick Cantlay and Anton Arboleda, posted scores of 73 (+1), 74 (+2) and 72 (E) respectively. Arboleda finished the day in a tie for 42nd while Clemens and Cantlay tied for 65th and 76th respectively.

Daniel Miernicki of Oregon was the first round leader, firing a score of 62 (-10).

The second round of the tournament kicks off tomorrow at 9:30 a.m.PT/7:30 a.m. HT.

For complete results from round one, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Saturday, Feb 27 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Sunday, Feb 28 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Monday, Mar 07 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 08 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS