No. 1 UCLA Women's Water Polo Defeats No. 8 UC San Diego, 14-5

Jan. 26, 2008

ANN ARBOR, Mich. - Junior Katie Rulon registered four goals to lead the No. 1 UCLA women's water polo team past No. 8 UC San Diego, 14-5, Saturday afternoon at Michigan's Canham Natatorium. Senior Gabrielle Domanic chipped in with three goals and classmate Jillian Kraus added two goals.

After having cruised past Arizona State by the same margin earlier in the day, the top-ranked Bruins (2-0) had little trouble against UC San Diego (1-2). UCLA led 3-1 after one period and raced to a 7-3 halftime lead.

The Bruins outscored the Tritons 5-1 in the third quarter and 2-1 in the final frame.

Freshman Noel Umphrey logged her first collegiate goal. Seniors Kamaile Crowell and Courtney Mathewson and junior Tanya Gandy each recorded one goal.

UC San Diego freshman Janice Aguilar led the Tritons with two goals.

UCLA returns to action at Michigan's Canham Natatorium on Sunday, Jan. 27, to face Colorado State (8:30 a.m. PT) and Indiana (12:00 p.m. PT).

No. 8 UC San Diego vs. No. 1 UCLA

1 2 3 4 F
UC San Diego 1 2 1 1 5
UCLA 3 4 5 2 14

UC San Diego Goals: Janice Aguilar 2, Sydney Gstettenbauer, Elizabeth Hahn, Stephanie Heinrich

UCLA Goals: Katie Rulon 4, Gabrielle Domanic 3, Jillian Kraus 2, Kamaile Crowell, Tanya Gandy, Courtney Mathewson, Priscilla Orozco, Noel Umphrey
UCLA Saves: Brittany Fullen 7


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Hawai'i
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 13 - 8
Saturday, Jan 23
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 8 - 5
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Long Beach State
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 4
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Michigan
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 7
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. USA Scrimmage
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 13
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
W, 17 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Loyola Marymount
San Diego, CA
W, 14 - 7
Sunday, Feb 14 - 11:10 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 10:50 AM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
Saturday, Mar 05 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 7:40 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:40 PM PST
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 20 - 1:00 PM PST
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 12:15 PM PST
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 1:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, May 13 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS