Bruins Finish Fourth at Pac-10 Championship

April 30, 2008

The third-ranked UCLA men's golf team placed fourth at the Pac-10 Championship Wednesday at The Meadow Club in Fairfax, Calif.

The Bruins posted a team score of 358 (+3) for a 72-hole total of 1,439 (+19). They finished five shots behind Arizona State, which won in a playoff against USC, the 2007 conference champion. ASU's victory was its first conference championship in eight years and 12th overall. Cal was third at 1,438 (+18) and Stanford finished fifth at 1,444 (+24). In sixth place was Arizona at 1,446 (+26), followed by seventh place Washington at 1,459 (+39). Oregon State was eighth at 1,461 (+41), Oregon was ninth at 1,462 (+42) and Washington State was 10th at 1,502 (+82).

Individually for the Bruins, senior Kevin Chappell tied for first place after 72 holes, but lost in a playoff to Airzona's Creighton Honeck. Honeck birdied the first playoff hole while Chappell made a par.

Junior Lucas Lee tied for 12th at 287 (+3) after posting a final round score of 71 (E). Senior Craig Leslie and freshman Philip Francis tied for 16th at 288 (+4). Both players jumped four spots up the leaderboard after recording scores of 70 (-1) on Wednesday. Junior Erik Flores tied for 47th at 299 (+15) following a final round score of 75 (+4) and sophomore Jason Kang tied for 53rd at 19-over par 303 after posting a 79 (+8) in the last round.

For complete results, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 12 - All Day PST
vs. Northern ...
Sugar Grove, IL
Sunday, Sep 13 - All Day PST
vs. Northern ...
Sugar Grove, IL
Sunday, Oct 04 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Monday, Oct 05 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Tuesday, Oct 06 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Friday, Oct 16 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Saturday, Oct 17 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Sunday, Oct 18 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Monday, Nov 02 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Tuesday, Nov 03 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Saturday, Nov 07 - All Day PST
vs. All-American
El Paso, TX
Sunday, Nov 08 - All Day PST
vs. All-American
El Paso, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS