UCLA Softball Announces 2010 Schedule

Oct. 21, 2009

2010 Schedule

Head softball coach Kelly Inouye-Perez has announced the Bruins' 2010 schedule, which features 33 matchups against teams that qualified for the NCAA Tournament last year, 19 home games and Pac-10 contests under the lights at Easton Stadium.

For the first time since 2003, the Bruins will play in the Sunshine State, opening the season at the NTC Division I Elite Invitational in Clermont, Fla. Right off the bat on Feb. 12, UCLA will face Georgia, which went 47-12 a year ago and was one game away from advancing to the Women's College World Series championship round. After matchups with UCF (Feb. 12) and Florida Atlantic (Feb. 13), the Bruins round out the tournament with two more games against teams that advanced to the 2009 postseason. On Feb. 13, UCLA takes on Tennessee, which won 40 games and played in the NCAA Regionals, while one day later, the Bruins battle with Michigan to close out their stay in Florida. The Wolverines advanced to the WCWS last season and had a 47-12 record.

The Bruins return to California and travel to UC Santa Barbara for a Feb. 17 doubleheader before opening their home schedule with the Stacy Winsberg Memorial Tournament (Feb. 19-21). UCLA will entertain Cal State Northridge and Cal Poly on Feb. 19, UC Davis and Northridge again on Feb. 20 and Portland State on Feb. 21. The Bruins close out the six-game homestand with a mid-week tilt against Cal State Fullerton on Feb. 24.

Arguably the most prestigious non-conference tournament in the nation is the Cathedral City Classic (Feb. 26-28) and for the Bruins it will be another tough test as it has been for the last six years. UCLA has won 12 straight games at this tournament against fierce competition, which it will be again in 2010. Four of the five teams on the Bruin slate qualified for the postseason a year ago. After starting off with Colorado State on Feb. 26, the Bruins play a Texas team that advanced to the Regionals in 2009 following a 40-win season. A pair of games on Feb. 27 will test UCLA's mettle, as the Bruins face Super Regional qualifier Baylor and Regional participant Northwestern. To close out the tournament on Feb. 28, UCLA takes on Ohio State, which went 47-11 last year and advanced to Super Regionals.

After a mid-week contest at UC Riverside on March 3, the Bruins head down to the San Diego Classic (March 5-7) where three more matchups await against 2009 postseason teams. On March 5, UCLA tackles Fresno State, which the Bruins defeated in the Regional round of last year's tournament. After facing UTEP on the morning of March 6, the Bruins face Regional squad Long Beach State later that evening. The weekend wraps up with contests against Buffalo and 2009 postseason team San Diego State on March 7. The Bruins then host North Carolina on March 10 before taking a week-and-a-half break for Winter Quarter exams.

Following the break, the Bruins resume their schedule with a pair of non-conference doubleheaders at CSU Bakersfield (March 21) and Cal Poly (March 23). UCLA then returns home for three games in two days, hosting Long Beach State in a single game on March 26 and a doubleheader against UNLV, which made the Regionals in 2009, on March 27. The following afternoon, the Bruins close out their non-conference slate with a twinbill at Loyola Marymount.

The Pacific-10 Conference schedule will change for the 2010 season, as teams will face one opponent in a three-game series rather than playing two different teams over three days. First up for the Bruins will be National Champion Washington in Seattle on April 1-3.

UCLA's first Pac-10 home series will be against Arizona State (April 9-11), which was one of three teams to advance to the Women's College World Series a year ago. For the first time in program history, the Bruins will play night games during Pac-10 play. All Friday matchups will be at 7 p.m. and every Saturday game will begin at 6 p.m., with the customary 12 p.m. first pitch for Sunday contests.

The Bruins play their next six games on the road with three-game sets at Oregon State (April 16-18) and 2009 Super Regional team Stanford (April 23-25) before returning to Easton Stadium to host Oregon (April 30-May 2) and '09 Super Regional squad California (May 7-9) in UCLA's final regular-season home series. The Bruins conclude the regular-season slate at Arizona (May 13-15), which advanced to the WCWS in 2009.

The postseason begins May 21-23 with Regionals. The Bruins have hosted Regionals each of the last six seasons. The Super Regional round runs from May 28-29, with the season once again culminating in Oklahoma City with the Women's College World Series from June 3-9.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, May 29
vs. Michigan
Oklahoma City, OK
L, 10 - 4
Saturday, May 30
vs. Auburn
Oklahoma City, OK
L, 10 - 11